Here, there and everywhere (2)…

I went back to the Sibu Bus Terminal Kopitiam because Alfie was praising the beef noodles there to the skies and I just had to go and try…

Bus terminal's beef noodles 1

It was all right but I did not think it was really great. The soup was nice with the fragrance of the spices used but it was not rich enough and besides, there was simply too little beef in it…

Bus terminal's beef noodles 2

…for RM5.50. I think they sell it for around RM4.50-5.00 herehere and here and I feel they are just as good, if not nicer.

Besides, for that kind of money, there are many other things  that I can have instead – for example, the char siew (barbecued meat) rice at this place…

e-Cafe's char siew rice 1

I used to go for the Sarawak laksa there but they’ve closed shop and gone off on a prolonged holiday. This particular stall used to be occupied by somebody selling all kinds of variations of tang yuan/tong su (glutinous rice balls), so either they’ve closed shop or moved elsewhere.

For RM5.50, I got this plate of chicken rice which, in my opinion, is not as nice as Chopsticks’

e-Cafe's char siew rice 2

…and this plate of char siew and barbecued pork ribs and one braised egg…

e-Cafe's char siew rice 3

It’s not bad but I do think, however, that what they have at this other place is much nicer.

I also went back to this cafe for the nasi lemak, as I said I would…

Sri Tanjung's nasi lemak

…and I must say that it was overrated. I wouldn’t be singing its praises, that’s for sure…and I very much prefer the old lady’s  nasi lemak at her stall at Peter’s Cafe, also in the same neighbourhood (Sungai Antu) – opposite Courts Mammoth…or the RM1.50-a-packet ones that I usually buy from my regular Malay kuih stall at Bandong.

Sad to say, I have not had anything lately that I would strongly suggest that everybody should go and try. Rest assured, however, that should I stumble upon something, I would definitely let everybody know. Do stick around…