Not the same (2)…

I had a post on this a long time ago. In the past, we had Indomie instant mee goreng (fried noodles) that were made in Malaysia and even then, people were telling me that the same product made in Indonesia was nicer. Something must have happened along the way…and the Malaysian counterpart has taken on a new name – Ibumie and rebranded its product, Always. I’ve tried it before and it tasted more or less like what it used to – nothing has changed, or at least, not that I noticed.

But the other day, at Ta Kiong in Kuching, I spotted these…

Indomie - made in Indonesia 1

– the original Indomie instant mee goreng, made in Indonesia. Without any second thoughts, I bought some and when I came home, I cooked a packet to try…

Indomie - made in Indonesia 2

I don’t know if it was psychological but it did seem nicer. There were more things inside – the seasoning, the oil, the soy sauce, the chilli powder and even, some fried onions. I don’t recall the Malaysian version having all that.

Indomie - made in Indonesia 3

m2mc also had a post on this the other day and though he did note a difference, he was diplomatic enough not to commit himself and say which he thought was better. As far as I know, my daughter eats this quite regularly in Wellington, New Zealand – the  original Indonesian version and she seems to be enjoying it…