Some like it hot (2)…

I used to drop by this bakery at the Delta Commercial Centre here, long before there was the Delta Mall next door…

Hot Flavour, Sibu

I can’t remember exactly when that was but I can positively remember that many of the shops that are there today were not there before – like the bank , for instance…or the ASTRO office in the same block. What drew me there then were the Mexican coffee buns. If I’m not mistaken, they were the first around here to make those…and whenever I bought some home, the whole house would be filled with the aroma of the coffee. Eventually, I stopped buying as the quality gradually dropped and the buns were not as nice as they were initially.

I went back again the other day as somebody gave me one of their cream puffs to try and they were absolutely heavenly…

Hot Flavour's cream puffs 1

What I liked best was the fact that they were quite generous with the custard cream filling inside, with its very rich creamy taste…

Hot Flavour's cream puffs 2

For one thing, they’re quite small and cost 80 sen each. That’s a bit expensive, don’t you think? I think I’ll just get them for special occasions like when I’m having a party at home and I can serve those for dessert.

There’s another bakery in the vicinity. Well, actually, there are two other bakeries (excluding the one I mentioned earlier) in that same area and this fourth one is the newest…

Bread Sense, Delta Commercial branch

They first opened an outlet a long time ago in Pusat Tanahwang, opposite Sacred Heart School, and then they opened a branch in the town centre, opposite Wisma Sanyan and another at the Sibu bus terminal area. I bought these tiramisu mousse from the latter…and now, they’ve opened a fourth branch here.

I thought the curry puffs (RM1.00 each) looked good, like those chicken cornish at Secret Recipe, so I bought a few to try…

Bread Sense curry puffs 1

…but I was somewhat disappointed. They had a few chunks of meat inside, but as you can see, there were mostly potatoes…

Bread Sense curry puffs 2

The filling tasted quite nice but the puff pastry was limp, not flaky at all. Comparatively, the not-really-nice ones at Aroma Bakery (the one with the yummy chicken pies) would be much nicer with its shortcrust pastry which I would very much prefer. Besides, they are only 80 sen each there…

The egg tarts, also RM1.00 each, were all right…

Bread Sense egg tarts

…but they weren’t great either.

I would much sooner go to my regular Bandong kuih stall and buy these pandan “biscuits” instead…

Bandong's pandan pastries

The skin is crusty and the pandan filling is very nice, not too sweet…

Bandong's pandan pastries 2

…and the best part is the fact that they are selling for RM1.00 for 4, very cheap indeed. I saw something similar at one bakery but they’re a lot more expensive.

Well, I guess it’s pretty obvious to which of these places I would be going back for more, right?