Amazed…

I am not a photographer – just someone with a digital camera with the sole purpose of taking snapshots for my blogposts. In other words, I am neither a professional nor a hobbyist who is very much into this specific interest or pastime.

When I first started blogging, I was using my cheap handphone camera and of course, I was slammed left, right and centre for my small and blurry photographs. It was only after I had bought a better camera for my daughter to take to New Zealand that I inherited her old one…

Mel's old digicam
*recycled pic – taken with old handphone camera*

…and I started using it to take pictures that, I suppose, would be an improvement from those earlier ones.

However, I was amazed when I was browsing through my site stats and noticed this in my incoming links: “Top 10 – What to Eat”. Out of curiosity, I clicked the link and it took me to a post in somebody’s blog in which he or she listed the top 10 things to eat in Penang. I looked at the photographs of all the yummy food and needless to say, there was one of the celebrated Penang char kway teow

Penang char kway teow
*recycled pic*

Imagine my surprise when I clicked the link and got to an old post in my own blog! By George! It was MY own photograph! LOL!!!

I suppose I should feel very flattered indeed that there was somebody who actually liked my photo enough to want to use it in a post in his/her own blog. Frankly, I do not mind, not at all…when people take this and that from my blog for their own use. After all, I’ve already published them in a non-restricted domain…so anyone can drop by and help himself or herself to whatever they may find. I am not one of those who would state quite blatantly that everything in their blog is copyright reserved but it would be nice to contact me or post a comment and ask for permission first…like on those occasions when the Sibu-based English daily wanted to feature something from my blog in their newspaper or more recently, when this schoolgirl wanted to recite a poem of mine during one of her school functions. Of course, I gave her the green light – it certainly was so very sweet of her to ask.

And talking about being amazed, I was checking out one of those web information sites and stumbled upon this bit of information about my blog:

Based on internet averages, suituapui.wordpress.com is visited more frequently by females who are in the age range 25-34, have no children, are graduate school educated and browse this site from work.

Gee! Is that so? That certainly IS interesting! Well, I don’t know about the age range…but I would think that many of those who post comments in my blog are female, married with children…unless there are a whole lot of other female readers lurking around that I do not know of. Come…come…whoever you are! Show yourself and let’s get acquainted. LOL!!!