Sooner than later…

I had not had it for a long time…and sometimes, I was wondering if I should buy some from one restaurant in town – they serve that there but I never got round to doing that. My MIL gave us some once but it was not really nice – not enough ginger (not “hiam” enough) and not enough white wine. Then my friend tried cooking it and gave me a bit and it was really good and not long after that, I had some more at our family reunion pot luck gathering in Kuching…and then, my missus decided to cook her own and just last week, I had it again at my foster-cousin’s house blessing. As they say, “It never rains; it pours…!!!” LOL!!!

I have yet to try and cook it myself though…and I assure you that I will get down to it sooner or later. As I have mentioned in my last post, I have to cook dinner these days but that day, there was still some of the gravy in the fridge – left over from that time when my missus cooked it – just the gravy, no chicken. So taking the easy way out, I went and bought some chicken, mixed it with the gravy and steamed it…

Kacang ma chicken

It tasted just as good…and that conveniently took care of the meat dish.

Then, I rummaged through the fridge and found these…

Khiew chai

I call them “khiew chai” or curly vegetables. Normally, I would just boil some pork bones in water with two or three cloves of garlic…and add some chicken stock. Just before serving, I would bring the stock back to boil, throw in the vegetables and serve immediately. It isn’t nice to put them in to boil in the soup too early…and they are not really suitable for frying as they would shrink until there wouldn’t be very much left. I didn’t want a soup dish, so what I did was to fry chopped garlic in a bit of oil till golden brown, add a few prawns and sliced chillies…and a bit of chicken stock and then, I threw in the stalks, adding just a bit of water for the sauce. Finally, I mixed all that with the leaves of the vegetables and served immediately. Thankfully, there was enough for two…

Fried khiew chai

So we had the kacang ma chicken with rice plus the fried khiew chai for dinner – a simple meal for two… Now, what shall I cook today? SIGH!!!