Never learn…

I may have blogged about my love-hate relationship with reality shows before but it does not stop me from watching year in, year out without fail. We only have the “American Idol” on satellite tv (I don’t watch the local ones…no, thank you)…but I get to see some of the others online.

The end result can and has been pretty frustrating. I was rooting for David Archuleta and the other David won…and how could Adam Lambert not win, you tell me? This year, Crystal Bowersox was way better than the other fella in the grand finale but didn’t win either. What’s the name of that guy now? Gee! He’s so forgettable…

I was disappointed also when Susan Boyle lost out to some dance group – I can’t remember the name either – on Britain’s Got Talent 2009…and in last year’s X-Factor, I thought Danyl Jonson was the best but he did not even reach the final. Still, that does not keep me from watching…

…and this year, my favourite in X Factor UK 2010 is Mary Bryrne…

I am not too sure but it seems that they have different categories – one for the young, one for the not-so-young and one for the groups. I do not know how it will work out in the end, whether there will be one overall winner or three winners – one in each category.

Anyway, back to Mary, I think she has a powerful voice, she sings her heart and soul out and she does not need any of those distracting back-up singers and dancers. Every performance is just Mary, all by herself.

Down Under, in X Factor Australia 2010, my favourite is Sally Chatfield, …

Of course, she’s nowhere near half as good as Mary. I suppose experience is an important factor that separates men from boys, ladies from girls…and she lacks the confidence, the class and finesse that Mary possesses but she isn’t too bad, not bad at all.

Well, I guess I have a soft spot for plus-sized people…even though usually, they will not win in the end as there is a bias against them. It seems that being fat, you do not have that so-called “star quality” but anyway, there can be no denying that both Mary and Sally are pretty good. What do you think?