Bunga Tanjung…

I mentioned a Mr Bean Special Cafe in Sungai Antu here in some of my earlier posts not too long ago but I just discovered that it is no longer there! I don’t know if it has closed down or whether they have spruced up the place nicely and renamed it…

Sri Tanjung Cafe 1

They’ve a very nice tiled floor now with some pleasant-looking furniture (with cushioned chairs) and they even have flowers on every table…

Sri Tanjung Cafe 2

Ok…ok…I know they’re plastic and they bought those at Supersave for RM3.90 but at least, they’ve put in some effort to make the place more presentable than the regular coffee shop or kopi tiam. See! They even provide a nice box of tissue paper for people to use…unlike some places where they give you a toilet roll!!! LOL!!!

I heard that their nasi lemak special with rendang chicken is very nice…but when I dropped by around lunchtime the other day, they were all sold out. So I had the nasi campur (mixed rice)…

Sri Tanjung - nasi campur

…and a teh tarek ais (“pulled” iced tea).

The fish curry was all right, nothing much to shout about as I can easily have something just as good or even better at other places but I would give them a double thumbs-up for the soy-sauce chicken. I think they had all kinds of ingredients – spices and all…not just ginger and soy sauce and lots of msg, the way they would cook it at the Chinese eating places.

I also had this ulam (the Malaysian version of salad)…

Sri Tanjung - ulam

…and the sambal was really great – super hot, super enjoyable! Altogether, I paid RM6.80…so I guess, the food was RM5.00 and the drink cost RM1.80.

Incidentally, did you notice it? Just look at what they use to serve the rice! Porcelain no less, not even melamine…and definitely, none of those miserable coloured plastic plates that we would find at most eating places here, there and everywhere. Bravo! Bravo! That certainly deserves another double thumbs-up!

I think I will be going back there again soon for the nasi lemak, so stay tuned!