Back for more…

I remember them selling these long ago, pickled in some yellow-coloured liquid, at those stalls selling tidbits in front of the cinemas…and after eating them, one’s fingers would all be yellow too. Then, there was a ban on those as the colouring used was harmful to one’s health.

I am talking here about buah kedondong or in English, umbra. I was a never a fan of those pickles nor of the fruit but it seems that lately, it has become a popular drink at many eateries as there are claims that the juice is good for lowering blood pressure and cholesterol.

If I am not mistaken, it is also used in fruit rojak…but I think I love it best like this…

Sambal kedondong 1

This is the sambal kedondong from my regular Malay food stall at Bandong and all this cost only RM2.00…

Sambal kedondong 2

However, if I had a choice, I would very much prefer the buah emplam

Buah emplam
*recycled photo*

…which actually looks similar but it is a lot more sour. They also sell these at the food stall and I bought some the other day, also for RM2.00. However, it was sold ulam-style – the fruit cut into slices, skin and all, and packed separately from the sambal belacan. I was supposed to dip the slices into the sambal and eat them like that but I prefer it done this way…

Sambal emplam 1

To serve it like this, I removed the skin on the slices and cut them into thin strips. Then I mixed it with the sambal belacan

Sambal emplam 2

It goes really well with rice and needless to say, I really enjoyed my dinner that evening! Rest assured that I will be going back there for more…