Whichever way you want it…

Everybody knows that rice is the staple food in this region…but it certainly seems that noodles also have a dominant place in the diet as well. We have so many varieties of noodles, cooked in all kinds of ways.

Well, I fried some the other day – Foochow style…but the dry version…

STP's Foochow fried noodles - dry 1

It is actually very easy to cook. Just fry some finely chopped garlic in a bit of oil, add meat…or in my case, prawns…

STP's Foochow fried noodles - dry 2

…and in goes the noodles. Add soy sauce and msg or chicken stock according to taste and then, throw in the taugeh (bean sprouts). Lastly, break an egg or  two into the wok and stir everything together thoroughly. The noodles are ready…

STP's Foochow fried noodles - dry 3

So easy, isn’t it?

This is different from the Foochow fried noodles – wet (with gravy/sauce) which I prefer to this dry version or the soup variety…

Delta Cafe's Foochow char chu mee

This bowl of what is called the Foochow char chu mee (fried cooked noodles) cost RM5.00 because of the extra ingredients added. I had this at the Delta Cafe and Seafood Restaurant (the other side of the Sibu swimming pool).

And this was what my missus cooked the other day – curry mee/noodles…

Mrs STP's curry mee 1

I had this in Penang once and though it was quite nice, I wasn’t too crazy about it.

Somebody gave my missus’ sister-in-law a packet of the ready-made paste, bought in Singapore and since she had no intention of cooking it, she gave it to us. My missus cooked it with prawns and garnished it with hard-boiled eggs and chopped spring onions.

Mrs STP's curry mee 2

My sentiments remain unchanged – I think I would  rather have our very own Sarawak/Kuching laksa and that too is noodles – rice noodles or mihun to be exact but cooked in a completely different way…