A welcome break…

The schools are having their holidays right now and my girl went over to Kuching with my sister for a much-needed break. Yes, she went out for dinner and lunch and whatever with our relatives – her grand-uncle & grand-aunties, her aunties and also with her friends, those working in Kuching.

She did not take snapshots of all that she ate though – she’s not like the dad but she did send me one of this awesome plate of char kway teow with see ham (cockles)…

That sure was a lot of cockles but it did not come cheap, RM12.00 a plate, if I am not mistaken.

She and my sister did walk over to Hon Hin along Abell Road, round the corner from the hotel where they were staying. We’ve heard a lot about this place and I’ve seen people sharing on Facebook all the things that they ate there. Needless to say, it was very crowded and they actually had to queue to go there and eat.

She had their Kuching kolo mee…

…and the special soup…

…but she said they were just so-so. They did not get her all excited, it seemed.

On one of the nights they were in Kuching, the two of them crossed the road to have a very nice dinner at Izzy’s, an American restaurant that they say is the non-halal version of Tom’s, along Jalan Padungan. I went to Tom’s once with my missus and my Kuching cousins in 2012 and yes, we loved it there.

My girl had their lasagna

…while my sister had the pork schnitzel

Well, they shared their orders actually and had this sweet potato fries…

…as well.

Yes, they did enjoy their dinner to the max there.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

3 thoughts on “A welcome break…”

  1. I like char kway teow with see ham but unfortunately this one doesn’t tickle my fancy. See ham overload. Too much of anything will make one feel uncomfortable after eating. Kolo mee looks pretty decent.

    Yes, I thought so too. It is more like eating see ham with kway teow added.

  2. Your girl deserves a break from all the hard work she is doing at school. It is nice that she is close to her aunt and they can have a getaway together.

    Yes, I am glad they get on well together. They do go out together sometimes, even here.

  3. Wow, that char kway teow with all those cockles looks mouthwatering! Even at RM12, it seems worth it for a special treat. Hon Hin sounds like a bustling spot

    I hear it’s Michelin starred but of course, many such places are over-rated, nothing to shout about really.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com