There I go again…

Yes, I’ve been tapao-ing lauk (dishes) home for our meals and when it comes to those Malay delights, I would just head to this stall at Bandong Walk.

Chicken was RM2.50 only a piece – you can’t find this price elsewhere and I bought their very nice ayam masak merah (RM10.00)…

I was early that morning, around 10 a.m. so I was able to ask for the drumsticks. It was super delicious and a little bit spicy, very much to our liking.

I also asked for the pumpkin and cangkok manis masak lemak (RM5.00)…

…which was not as lemak as I would have loved it but it was ok.

At the same time, I also asked for the pajeri nenas (RM5.00)…

…and in the end, I found that I had bought too much so I put the pineapple in the fridge for us to enjoy another day.

I couldn’t resist their sambal petai (RM5.00)…

…and also their kerabu ikan masin (RM5.00)…

…so I ended buying the two as well. These turned out to be quite salty, best eaten with rice so we just nibbled a bit and saved the rest for another day.

There you have it! RM30.00 altogether and we had enough for a few days (except the meat – that was good for two meals).

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

5 thoughts on “There I go again…”

  1. Which stall in Bandung? I wanted to tapao when I was back in September but I just don’t know which stall shall I go.

    Bandong Walk is the elevated ground on the right side, only one food stall selling lauk from 10 am onwards. Others selling fritters, nasi lemak and what not. Latifah satay opens late afternoon.

  2. Here, RM3.50 for drumsticks and RM3.00 for chicken wings. I like ayam masak hitam to ayam masak merah. I guess that kerabu ikan masam is a very appetising dish to whet up appetite.

    I am not crazy about masak merah except this one. A bit different, very tasty, not all hint of tomato sauce. The ladies in the house don’t like masak hitam, dunno why.

  3. Oh my! All the dishes are what I love. So cheap too.

    Indeed, such a steal…and they all taste so good! Will be going back there again and again, that’s for sure.

  4. Wow, the ones you ordered were mouth watering! They do look so good and it is indeed a smart move to buy back, save all the hassle.

    Yes, why make life so difficult for ourselves especially at our old age? Just enjoy life while we can. We can save our special cooking skills for special occasions, cook out favourite dishes for the family. That would be something to look forward too!

  5. RM2.50 for chicken?! That’s practically unheard of! Your post sounds like a treasure map for budget-conscious foodies

    Yes, that is so cheap! Hard to believe.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com