I keep coming back for more…

I had a post on this man from Penang who runs a stall in the Bandong area here selling very nice murtabak at RM2.00 per piece – with beef or chicken filling…

Bandong murtabak - chicken
*recycled pic*

…but lately, I have been stopping by for his roti canai instead…

Bandong's roti canai 1

I guess everybody knows what roti canai is. It is actually some kind of dough that is kneaded and stretched thin…and even thrown into the air like what they do with pizza dough, and then folded into squares and fried on a hot plate. I’ve always thought that it is thus called as canai in Malay is “to knead” but I read somewhere that it is called roti pratha in Singapore and the name canai is derived from Chennai, a city in India (formerly Madras) or channa, a dish made with boiled chickpeas in a spicy gravy from Northern India which this type of bread was traditionally served. Whatever it is, I was never a fan and to me, it was something that I would eat if it was there but I would not go out of my way to look for it.

For one thing, I did not like the dhall dip that is provided…and would prefer it more if they gave curry instead – like at one stall at a coffee shop in Sungai Merah here. However, the complimentary dip provided at this Bandong stall for the roti canai is really very nice, so nice that I wouldn’t mind just eating it like that…

Bandong's roti canai 2

The roti canai itself too is extra fragrant…like there is some kind of butter in it which I would think is not likely. Perhaps it is the margarine that the man uses…but I actually like it a lot.

The best part, of course, is that fact that it only costs RM1.00 a piece. I am sure you cannot get it at that price anywhere else in town…and definitely, not anything that is as nice as this one. Unfortunately, I don’t think he is open for business on weekends, Satudays and Sundays, so if anybody would like to give it a try, you will have to catch him early in the morning between Monday and Friday. Usually by 8.00 a.m. or so, everything would be sold out and he would pack up and go home. Good luck!!!