U can’t touch this (2)…

I had a post in this particular brand of instant noodles not too long ago and HORROR OF HORRORS!!! Imagine my shock yesterday when somebody shared a link to this video clip on Facebook to bring the matter to my attention…

If you are not proficient in Mandarin, it seems that the noodles are banned in Taiwan and this is due to the presence of certain chemicals used as preservatives in the seasoning – namely methyl p-hydroxybenzoate and benzoic acid, permitted for use only in the manufacture of cosmetics, that are harmful to your health. If consumed, consumers are at risk of vomiting. Also, when consumed regularly or in amounts substantially, consumers will suffer metabolic acidosis, or too much acid in the body.

You can read the detailed report here.

I understand that this particular brand is the best seller in New Zealand and with all their stringent laws and checks regarding the import of food into the country, I am very surprised that it has not been banned there yet. According to the report:
The Indomie importer, Fok Hing (HK) Trading, said the noodles meet the food safety standards of Hong Kong and the World Health Organization, citing a June quality examination that did not find banned preservatives.

“The Indomie noodles are safe to eat and they entered the Hong Kong market via legal import channels,” it said. “The poisoned products found in Taiwan are suspected of being imported in illegal ways.”

It seems that two supermarkets in Hong Kong have taken the noodles off their shelves. Whatever it is, I am definitely not going to take any chances – I quickly informed my daughter in Wellington about this, asking her not to eat this particular brand anymore and on my part, I still have two big packs of the noodles that I bought when I was in Kuching…but in view of  the situation, I will resort to using my own seasoning when cooking them…and that would be mean that I will be tossing the cooked noodles with Bovril instead.

As they say, better be safe than sorry…

Truly…

My ex-student cum lawyer-friend cum makan-kaki, Louis J, finally solemnised his nuptial union with Georgina N in the eyes of God on Saturday, 9th October at the St Mary of Divine Mercy Church here in Sibu. There were so many photographers at the wedding service, each with their equipment of all shapes and sizes…so I did not bother to try and squeeze with the rest of them and take a snap or two with my miserable digicam.

The wedding reception was held at a local hotel here and I was stuck where I was sitting. There were so many tables and hence, there wasn’t much room for anyone to swing a cat. Because of that, I just stayed put where I was and did not venture around to take photographs there either. But I did manage to take this one of Louis J drinking a toast to his and his bride’s everlasting happiness…

Louis J's wedding reception 1

…and also a few of the food.

This was the first dish, the more-than-Four Seasons…

Louis J's wedding reception 2

…and there was the chicken combo – roast and Thai-style…

Louis J's wedding reception 3

I liked the fish curry served with rice…

Louis J's wedding reception 4

…but did not think the prawns were all that fresh – nothing like those that I can buy cheap from my Bandong roadside stall

Louis J's wedding reception 5

There were other dishes but everyone at my table was in such a hurry to dive in the moment one was served, so I did not manage to snap the rest.

There was a band…and a whole lot of singing but not me! Louis J sang though, his signature tune – the saccharin-sweet and very romantic “Truly” by Lionel Richie.

After the reception, they proceeded to the longhouse where they would have the traditional Iban wedding celebration that very night and I wouldn’t be surprised if the festivities would go on till the wee hours of the morning. Too bad I’m already too old as I would really love to go and witness that – if I were to go, I don’t think I have that much energy to last very long…