Random…

I have a few photographs, a little bit of this and a little bit of that, that I’ve not shared so I have decided to do that in today’s post.

When my brother and his daughter, and a cousin from KL, were in town, I did drop by here

Ah Sian Beef Noodle Cafe
*Archive photo*

…to buy the kampua noodles for them to enjoy and yes, they were very good and everyone loved it!

Usually, we would not go there for their kampua mee per se but we would go for their very nice kampua kosong (without meat)…

Ah Sian kampua kosong
*Archive photo*

…and their most delightful beef soup with the meat, tripe and tendon…

Ah Sian beef soup special

…instead.

While I was there that day, I noticed that they have taken over that shop next door now…

Ah Sian New Cafe

– so far, many have opened theirs next door including the chicken rice franchise in that first photograph above and this so-called  nyonya place that did not really tickle my fancy and we never went back there again but they all closed down eventually.

My niece – my brother-in-law’s daughter, the one working in Singapore, was home for Chap Goh Meh but with my mum in the medical centre at the time, we did not even get to meet, much less, go out for dinner together. She brought me some Cedele cakes, her favourite in Singapore and I loved the very nice orange cake while the lemon was all right – the icing on top was rather sweet and the cake tasted like…lemon, not something that would get me all excited. So far, my favourites were their carrot cake and also a Gula Melaka one.

She also brought back these special potato chips…

Potato chips from Singapore

…for my girl but the Hainanese chicken rice one was not gluten-free. My girl loved the Singapore laksa and I did try a few pieces – my, it did taste like it but generally, I am not into these munchies.

In the meantime, we did drop by here for lunch once and my missus had the drumstick and two types of vegetables…

Sri Pelita nasi campur 1

…while I had these…

Sri Pelita nasi campur 2

I had their liver and sambal egg together with two types of vegetables – the bayam (amaranth) and the acar timun.

I was hoping they would have the lovely brinjal or petai (stink beans) or their fried tofu with their out-of-this world sambal but no, they did not have it. It seemed that for whatever reason, those favourites of mine had not been among their selection for quite a while now…and I thought the sambal with the egg tasted somewhat different – in the past, it was a case of one size fits all and whatever they had with sambal, it would all taste the same.

I did not find out the exact prices but for what we had and our drinks, I was charged a very reasonable RM15.00.

AH SIAN BEEF NOODLES (2.293063, 111.826106) is located along Jalan Tuanku Osman in the block of shops right in front of the Public Bank, Tuanku Osman branch, right before the tyre shop and below the Kasturi Restaurant at the other end while  SRI PELITA CAFE (2.293579, 111.820700) is located along Lorong Kampung Datu 11, off Jalan Kampung Datu, the first shop in the block to the right of Paramount Hotel.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “Random…”

  1. Something new and interesting, the special potato chips. I doubt we have on the shelves over here. I love your picks for rice platter but a bit too much for me to handle. I will only take the liver & acar.

    I hear you can buy them at Singapore airport, VERY expensive…but then again, things are always extra expensive at airports, even our Malaysian ones. 😦

  2. Woah, those noodles look so springy.

    Have to be good at cooking, the right timing or it will be too soft and soggy. No alkaline/lye water in Foochow noodles to keep them firm unlike others.

  3. Wah. Business must be good. I remember one of our favourite for noodle and good soup in Sibu.

    Yes, always a lot of people.

  4. The drumstick is calling out to me me, hehe…

    It is? Not the bitter gourd, peeping from the back kah? Muahahahaha!!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com