Next to me…

I think I did mention a while ago that this beef noodles shop has taken over the one right next to it…

Ah Sian Beef Noodle Cafe plus new extension

…and despite the fact that the ones before did not last very long, I hear that they are doing really well with lots of people dropping by, even at night.

I was out early that morning and I felt like having their beef noodles, our favourite in town, so I ordered the special (RM8.00)…

Ah Sian beef noodles special 1

…with all the tripe and tendons…

Ah Sian beef noodles special 2

…and the meat that all went so well with the chili dip that came with it.

We have not been here for a while now as the noodles…

Ah Sian beef noodles special 3

…are not gluten free. My girl is not keen on the idea of substituting it with kway teow (flat rice noodles) and besides, we are not sure if they add any soy sauce, light, if not dark, and that too would not be gluten free. Way back then, when we used to drop by here, normally, we would have the kampua mee kosong (plain noodles, dry, without meat) to go with a bowl of the lovely beef soup and kampua mee is not gluten-free either.

There is a chu-char (cook & fry) place at the back and according to a friend that I met there that morning, the stuff that they dish out is pretty good as well, the Foochow fried noodles and all the rest. Other than that, there is this dim sum stall…

Dim sum stall at Ah Sian New Cafe

…by the side in front but it was closed when I got there. The guy came a while later and started setting up his business for the day…

Ah Sian New Cafe dim sum, the steaming starts

According to him, they are open every day but for half the day only on Sundays and Mondays.

My girl loves these or nee (yam puffs)…

Ah Sian New Cafe yam puffs

…but the guy said that they did add a bit of wheat flour as the binding agent so I did not buy any in the end.

Then, the guy showed me these…

Ah Sian dim sum, Chinese pearls 1

…and said they were gluten-free, no wheat flour was used in the making and I decided to buy some to try.

They’re Chinese pearl meatballs with sticky rice (珍珠丸子)…

Ah Sian New Cafe dim sum, Chinese pearls 2

…selling at RM4.80 for 5 so that works out to less than a ringgit each. I thought they were quite nice, like sio bee/siew mai minus the non-gluten free skin and coated with glutinous rice instead…

Ah Sian New Cafe dim sum, Chinese pearls 3

…though I would not say that they swept me off my feet. It seems that this is something auspicious that people make for special occasions like Chinese New Year.

According to the guy, his wife is a China national so all that he has at his dim sum stall would be pretty authentic.  I certainly would love to drop by there again to try whatever else he has in store…but of course, parking in that area can be such a pain especially on working days  so I would not know when I would get down to doing that.

AH SIAN BEEF NOODLES (2.293063, 111.826106) is located along Jalan Tuanku Osman in the block of shops right in front of the Public Bank, Tuanku Osman branch, right before the tyre shop and below the Kasturi Restaurant at the other end.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “Next to me…”

  1. The Chinese pearl meatball is something new to me which I have never come across in any dim sum place over here. Sometimes for a change I like to have beef kway teow instead of noodles.

    I don’t mind kway teow but the end taste is different. Prefer our noodles, not quite like yellow noodles, no alkaline smell.

    I vaguely remember having those pearl meatballs somewhere before but I cannot remember where now but I do recall it did not get me all excited, same thing this time around. I’d much sooner go for sio bee.

  2. The rice balls are interesting. Gluten free some more, your girl could enjoy it.

    The Ah Sian is enjoying good business. Good to know.

    Yes, sure is doing very well indeed! Nicer than Ah Mui, anytime!

  3. In Malaysia, the foods can be prepared at home and bring to the stall to sell?

    Not in Singapore meh? I am sure those Chinese, nyonya or Malay kueh stalls make theirs at home and bring to the stalls to sell, no? Or maybe they get everything from a main supplier who has a big shop or factory but usually, those are not so nice. Same thing with the dim sum stalls at the coffee shops, these small ones…not the big dim sum restaurants.

    I do know for a fact that there are people making at home and sending to the stalls and shops here for sale to earn a bit of money to supplement their family income.

  4. Those pearl meatballs are rarely seen. I’ve only come across them in cookbooks and made them once many years ago.

    Me too! I think I did try it once somewhere but I can’t remember exactly where and when now.

  5. Ohh..I remember trying something like Chinese pearl meatballs with sticky rice (珍珠丸子) too…Its quite nice and special. You are right. Its like sio bee coated with glutinous rice.

    I prefer the sio bee skin to the rice but it is not gluten-free so my girl cannot eat that. That is why we don’t go for dim sum anymore, most everything is not gluten free. 😦

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com