Find you…

We went back here for the beef noodles recently even though I was avoiding the place after some unpleasant experiences but like it or not, this is one of the better places in town for that. It was still good but we felt that the quality had dropped a little – it certainly used to be a whole lot better.

The one here has moved some place else and this one did not really tickle my fancy all that much…and this one that goes back a long long way doesn’t get me all that excited either.

I tried the new food court in town where there is a beef noodle stall but the somewhat unenthusiastic young boy there just said that he was not ready to start for the day and it was already way past 7, almost 8.

In the end, I decided to go someplace else and ended up here…

Sibu Cafe

I was there in 2016 and had their beef noodles from this stall there…

Beef noodles stall

…but it was not the clear soup type, more like what they call the Taiwan-style with the soup a shade of brown…and let’s just say that given a choice, I would not pick that one.

Since I was going round hoping to find some really good beef noodles in town, I had their beef noodles…

Beef noodles 1

…again that day, still RM7.00 a bowl but I asked for the RM10.00 one…

Beef noodles 2

…with the extra beef and tripe.The soup was nice but I did not think it was all that strong with the beef flavour, the meat was tender and so was the tripe though I would prefer it sliced a little bit more thinly.

However, if it is beef noodles done this way, my favourite would be the one here but we have not been there for a long time so I am not sure if they are still there – it did move around quite a bit and led us on a wild goose chase.

As I was leaving, I saw somebody having the chai thow koi (fried carrot cake) or koey kah and it looked very good. Perhaps I shall come back another day to try that!

SIBU CAFE (2.295419, 111.839777) is located among the shops at Pusat Tanahwang, right across the road from SMK Sacred Heart, on your right if you are driving in after making the left turn into the lane past the SHELL station there.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “Find you…”

  1. It is quite easy to find beef noodles in sg, nearly every foodcourt has one stall selling beef noodles here in sg.

    I loved the one on the 1st Floor of Cuppage Centre when the ground floor was a market a long time ago. Hot and noisy and messy place but the food was so good – gone once they upgraded the place. Didn’t have good beef noodles in Singapore after that or at least, none in the vicinity of Orchard Road.

  2. Most important thing is beef and tripe cook to perfection. No tendons? Personally I prefer the broth to have a stronger beef flavour.

    No, I would love some tendons too but once I bought some at the sea cucumber stall at the market here – SO VERY expensive!!! Maybe everyone is going for it after all that talk about collagen so the price shot up! Tsk! Tsk!

  3. I don’t get to eat beef noodles often as the hubby and boys dont eat beef. I can’t usually finish an entire bowl on my own hence I don’t order beef because it will be a waste if there is no one to share it with me. However, when I am back in my hometown, my Daddy will make sure I get to eat beef. My cousin sometimes buy me that famous beef noodles from Tangkak too.

    So if I am ever in Sibu, you know what to get me yeah 😀

    Come! Come!!! When? I am right here waiting!!!
    They do not eat beef? All the nice juicy steaks over at your side. Lamb?

    I’ve heard of Tangkak, never tried. I tried Seremban’s, not to my liking…but over the years, I had very nice ones at Jalan Petaling, Lot 10 Hutong’s good too! Yet to try the one at Tengkat Tong Shin, they said so very good.

  4. Oh! The beef noodles look so good. But if the beef taste is not that strong then I would be disappointed. I love fried carrot cake. Do go and try it and report back if it is nice or not. I hope it is good 🙂

    It sure looked better than the one I blogged about the other day – that one seemed a bit too dark.

  5. I just had beef noodles for dinner. Not Malaysian style though, Vietnamese.

    I enjoy pho but sadly, no Vietnamese eatery here. We had a good Thai place but it has closed down – the other one in town has gone downhill ever since the authentic Thai chefs left, never went back there since.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com