Beside you…

I’ve blogged about this place a couple of times – I used to go there for the kampua noodles which I thought is quite nice and more recently, I went there for the Foochow fried noodles which I could remember having before a long time ago and yes, it was nice too…but the last time I was there with my relatives from Kuching, we ordered one big plate (RM15.00) to share but it was not really that good.

Anyway, when I was there, I noticed that they had taken over the shop unit right beside the original one or that was what I assumed until my friend, Robert, told me that it…

Sibu Cafe

…seemed to be a different place altogether and the beef noodles he had there were pretty good so I just had to go and check it out.

Well, I found out that it was the one and the same shop with the name in English this time, Sibu Cafe instead of Kedai Kopi Sibu. This new section is very nice, quite unlike the not-so-impressive old school kind of coffee shop next door but the drinks that you order all come from there. There is a stall here and you can see from these displays on the wall what you can order from there, the mee sua or hung ngang in traditional Foochow red wine chicken soup…

Sibu Cafe displays 1

…or kompia or fish balls tang hoon (glass noodles) or perhaps, you would like their beef noodles…

Sibu Cafe displays 2

…or beef tripe noodles using their own-made “hand-beaten” mee.

They certainly were not all that generous with their chili dip…

Sibu Cafe beef noodles chili dip

…but it was all right as they had it all on the counter at their stall and my missus went and helped herself to more and they did not even bat an eyelid.

She had the beef tripe noodles (RM7.00)…

Sibu Cafe gu tor mee

…while I had the beef noodles (RM7.00)…

Sibu Cafe beef noodles

…and though they were quite nice and the servings were huge (lots of noodles, especially), we do think that for this kind of what they call Taiwan-style beef noodles,Β the one here has an edge over this one plus it is cheaper by one ringgit.

I may go back there again and perhaps I would try their mee suaΒ the next time around or maybe I would just go back to the kampua mee or Foochow fried mee stall next door.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

14 thoughts on “Beside you…”

  1. The servings were huge so that’s why they are more expensive by RM1?

    I dunno why they see it fitting to price theirs a little higher but there certainly was a lot more noodles, maybe a little bit more beef too. Quite a task for not very big eaters like my missus to finish. Too bad the taste was not on par with the one at that other place that we like a lot.

  2. I’ve said it before, and I say it again… I think you should offer personalized street food tours of your hometown. What wonderful insight you’d give visitors to the local delicacies.

    I do it all the time, anybody who cares to drop by our little town. They would just let me know by commenting here, leaving their email address or contact number…and I would get back to them for the details. I would even arrange a tentative itinerary and send it to them but I do it for free, just for the fun of it. I enjoy company, making new friends, bringing people around for the best this town has to offer.

    Some have suggested that I charge for all that but no, money is not everything.

  3. I can see that they are generous with the beef and all. As you say, portion is huge, can be shared between 2 persons for a small eater, that counts Rm3.50 fore each person, price still reasonable.

    Yes, I would agree. Not for big eaters like me though, half would not be quite enough but still, it was a bit too much for me. Would rather they reduce the portion by a quarter or a third and cut down the price a bit.

  4. The food photos on the wall is impressive.

    What you guys have looked good too. Never mind it is slightly pricey but anything beef is not cheap anyway.

    Yes, anything with beef or lamb…or even pork. I think chicken is the most affordable of the lot now.

    Those poster displays seem to be the in-thing here now. I saw at some other coffee shops as well, coffee shops, mind you! These days, the coffee shops are getting to look a whole lot nicer.

  5. Oh i wanna try those balls! Fish balls.

    Dunno if she read it somewhere or the lady told her but my missus said it was bay kar, tenggiri, own-made fish balls. I wouldn’t mind trying that the next time around. None of those frozen supermarket ones for me, thank you very much.

  6. Do share with us if you do go back for the mee sua…

    Of course I would…if I do go back there.

  7. Is there any place that does beef liver soup? I like tripe, but I love liver more! πŸ™‚

    Pork liver yes, everywhere but beef liver so far I only see those at the Malay stalls, cooked rendang or whatever style. I love those…but gotta go slow a bit when it comes to liver.

  8. The beef tripe noodles looks great… I love the beef tendons, very nice to chew.. heheehe.. RM7 is fine, over here the price vary from RM6-10 depending on the portion. During the last few days I have eaten two times already!

    Wahhhhh!!! I love tendons too but none, and they are very very expensive these days. Word must have gone round that they are high in collagen, can make people stay looking young. Like pork trotters and chicken feet. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  9. Looks pretty good and I love beef noodles with all the works. Big portion like that is what I like πŸ˜€

    The law of diminishing returns. Too much and towards the end, one would be struggling to finish and will not enjoy it as much anymore.

  10. I believe this portion is good for me to share with Ayden. I don’t think I can eat all that alone especially with so much noodles. I’ll go for the beef tripe πŸ˜‹

    I bet you can’t – you’re so thin and small. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  11. Hmm…is this beef tripe noodles the one that was in Chopsticks circa 1990’s?

    I remember an old lady used to make THE BEST beef noodles there. I still haven’t eaten a better one, not even in Sabah, Taiwan or anywhere else. Unfortunately. I don’t know where she has gone to. My dad tells me it’s somewhere near our place but we haven’t been there yet.

    This Sibu Cafe looks pretty nifty and modern and clean though.

    Yes, the lady is still around behind the Kidney Foundation place – https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2008/11/12/everybody-knows/

    I hardly drop by even though it is so near as the place can get so so so crowded, hard to find parking space for the car even…and she would get rather grumpy all the time.

  12. You’ll never get this in KK for RM7! At least 8.50 a bowl! Somemore the portion will be just average. This reminds me how bad i miss having beef noodles!

    I love Kah Hiong ngiu chap in KK, best in the world. I think they have an outlet in Puchong now, dunno just as nice or not. It’s buffalo meat though. Their cili padi dip is a real killer!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

