You’re bigger…

This coffee shop

Uncle Lau Corner

…along this lane…

Lane

…is bigger now. Word has it that some new owners have taken over the place and they have extended it to include the shop lot next door.

The Malay/Muslim stall which used to be in the original shop, right next to the kampua mee stall, has moved to this side…

New side

…but all the other stalls are still vacant, currently available for rent…

Stall for rent

I heard from the guys at my regular car workshop opposite that the food from this particular stall is quite nice but for no apparent reason, I have never given it a try.

The kampua mee stall is still around…

Uncle Lau Corner kampua mee stall

…enjoying brisk business as always. I’ve tried the noodles and the pain sip (meat dumplings) and I would say that both are pretty good but the meat porridge that I had once from this particular stall did not get me excited, not at all.

The new proprietors not only run the drinks business here but they have taken over the chu char (cook & fry) stall at the back as well. I never did get the chance to try the original one a long long time ago and at one time, I heard the people engaged an Indonesian lady to do the cooking at the back – I did try once but no, it wasn’t anything I would want to order again.

The other morning, I decided I would order something from there to see if the current people are any good or not. Much to my surprise, the two ladies doing the cooking at the back did not look Chinese, probably one of our local ethnic races. Never mind, I thought – the lady here wasn’t Chinese either but what she dished out would put a lot to shame! I placed my orders for the noodles and a drink and went to sit at a table and waited.

The kopi-o-peng (iced coffee, black)…

Uncle Lau Corner kopi-o-peng

…was good and at RM1.50 only a glass, it was much cheaper than a lot of places around town.

The char mee, tam (fried noodles, wet/with gravy) turned out to be the moon version…

Uncle Lau Corner Foochow fried noodles, moon 1

…which I do enjoy very much and yes, despite the lack of ingredients, it tasted really great (RM4.00)…

Uncle Lau Corner Foochow fried noodles, moon 2

…and I did enjoy it a lot.

Personally, I don’t mind those minute bits of meat and slices of fish cake but I wish they could be a bit more generous with the green vegetables – sawi, I believe…

Uncle Lau Corner Foochow fried noodles, moon 3

I am sure it is not all that expensive and I do enjoy eating it with my noodles.

I think come lunch time, they do have chap fan (mixed rice) here so perhaps one of these days, I can drop by and have a look to see what they have in store.

UNCLE LAU CORNER (2.328131, 111.840397) is located back to back with Udak Kitchen which is to the left of Everwin, Sg Merah along Lorong Sungai Merah 2C, off Jalan Teng Chin Hua.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

14 thoughts on “You’re bigger…”

  1. That is what I call simple and yet yummy. Minus point for using plastic plates.

    Yes, most of them here do. Tried the Malay stall yesterday and was glad she did not use a plastic plate, post on it coming soon.

  2. I have my eye on that big iced coffee. I think I would need just a splash of milk to take the bitter edge off though.

    I guess it is purely psychological but everytime I drink milk, I will feel sleepy so I will always take my coffee black…and kao kao (extra strong).

  3. I must carefully eat the noodle if I wear white or lighter coloured top. Don’t want get it stained. Hahaha. And I always reminded my kids not to slurp too much otherwise will stain their shirt or faces. Lol. That is why I seldom take this. Hahaha.

    These days, anything I eat will get onto the front of my shirt. Old man, maybe…

  4. Its 4.30pm now, seeing this, I want to take my dinner now, time does not matter anymore! 🙂

    The wonderful life of retirees. Anything, anytime, not governed by any rules.

  5. I know many people who actually put aside the sawi whenever they eat noodles. My boys are like that too >_<

    Kids! I was like that when I was small – my mum would put the vegetables on our plates and a rotan beside her – see want to eat or not, like that? LOL!!! Now I love vegetables!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com