Anything good…

I was in the vicinity of this coffee shop again the other morning so I decided to try the Malay/Muslim stall to see if there was anything good.

The nice lady has the usual fried stuff – mee (noodles), bihun (rice vermicelli) and kway teow (flat rice noodles), nasi lemak (coconut rice) and nasi ayam penyet (clobbered chicken rice)…and I think she has nasi campur (mixed rice) come lunchtime.

I remember the kway teow goreng (fried) we had from the Muslim stall here…

Choon Seng kway teow goreng

…was very nice so I ordered that to see if the one here was any good.

It looked all right (RM3.50)…

Uncle Lau Corner kway teow goreng 1

…and tasted all right too but then again, the fried kway teow elsewhere, never mind if it is at a Chinese or a Muslim stall, is all right too…and for that same price, the one I mentioned earlier came with one fried egg but that was in 2016 – with the escalating prices of things these days, I would not be at all surprised if it costs more now.

I would give due credit to the lady for not using a plastic or melamine plate (though the complimentary chicken soup came in a striking pink plastic bowl) but what pushed the one here a cut above the rest was the sambal

Uncle Lau Corner Muslim stall, sambal

Boy! It was so very nice, spicy and nice and with that, I truly enjoyed my plate of kway teow

Uncle Lau Corner kway teow goreng 2

…to the max. I sure would not mind having that again the next time I drop by here and I certainly would ask for more of that so very delightful sambal!

UNCLE LAU CORNER (2.328131, 111.840397) is located back to back with Udak Kitchen which is to the left of Everwin, Sg Merah along Lorong Sungai Merah 2C, off Jalan Teng Chin Hua, across the road from the St Teresa’s Catholic Church and the SIB Church next to it.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “Anything good…”

  1. I like my char kway teow with lots of taugeh. Over here, char kway teow with only taugeh cost 4 -4.50, with ingredients will be 5.00-5.50.

    I remember a mobile stall at Padungan (just like the one at Cloud Estate, Green Road) near Longhouse Hotel. We used to go there to tapao, 50 sen only…char kway teow goh kak, kway teow chay chay, tau geh chay chay, nui chay chay…and the man would retort lu lang air goh kak any tua kah? So funny! I’m just ok with taugeh, too much may trigger a gout attack, high content of protein.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com