Up & down…

The price of petrol went down last week but to me, it was just an effort to pull wool over everybody’s eyes. It only meant that people would pay less to fill up and would not fill the pinch when they drive here and there even if it would be to some place round the block. Unfortunately, it did not affect the prices of things around here, not at all. That is usually the case around here – everyone is quick in jacking up the prices for whatever reason but no, there is no way those prices will ever come down again.

I have not gone to buy for quite a while now but I was told that my favourite kompia (our Foochow bagel-like bread) here now costs 50 sen each, RM1.00 for 2. According to some sources, there are places selling at 3 for RM1.00 still but I like the ones here most of all for its fragrance and crunchiness – the ones elsewhere may be quite bland and like rubber. Once, they were selling at 4 for RM1.00 and when the prices of things went up, they stuck to that same price but the kompia became smaller and thinner, quite impossible to cut slits in them to stuff the filling. I don’t know if there were complaints from their customers or what but they raised the price to 3 for RM1.00 and restored its original size and thickness.

As far as I know, many of those selling stuffed kompia at the stalls around town would get theirs from here. The ones here, fried and stuffed with minced meat are my friend, Annie’s favourite and they were 80 sen each before and the last time I had it, they were 90 sen each. I am pretty sure they have increased the price again, like everything else around here. Of course, those here would be a lot more expensive – the ones with minced meat were RM3.80 for three once, dunno now and the last time I had those with stewed pork belly, they were a shocking RM5.20 for three.

It so happened that I was here the other day around 3 in the afternoon and of course, I did not care for anything heavy at that time of day, just something for tea. I noticed an older couple, the lady, in particular, manning the kampua mee stall…

Uncle Lau Corner kampua mee stall

…so I asked around if somebody new had taken over but I was told that the very much younger and more attractive lady in the morning would be their daughter-in-law and yes, they were still the same people there.

The kampua mee here is RM3.00 a plate though – I would much sooner walk round the corner to this shop around 200 metres away to enjoy theirs at RM2.50 only. Anyway, I saw that they had kompia so I ordered three (RM1.00 each)…

Fried kompia with minced meat filling

– theirs is deep-fried which I prefer to the ones elsewhere where they toast them in the oven (toaster) as those can be a bit hard and do not taste as great. Somehow, some things taste better, deep-fried.

Yes, they were nice, lots of minced meat filling…

Minced meat filling

…inside but considering that the three cost just as much as a more filling plate of kampua mee, I probably would not be coming back for more all that soon.

I had the iced red bean with grass jelly (RM3.50)…

Iced red bean with grass jelly

…which was nice but I did not think they used santan (coconut milk) and I would prefer these things with a sprinkling of gula Melaka (palm sugar) on top.

I noticed that there was a new stall beside the Malay/Muslim stall but I did not go and see what they had in store and I saw on a notice on the wall that there would be another stall opening in February. I probably would check those out the next time I am in the vicinity.

UNCLE LAU CORNER (2.328131, 111.840397) is located back to back with Udak Kitchen which is to the left of Everwin, Sg Merah along Lorong Sungai Merah 2C, off Jalan Teng Chin Hua.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “Up & down…”

  1. I wonder how are future generations going to survive with prices keep going up, I think future future generations will suffer

    Sad that many are unemployed, no jobs for the fresh graduates – there are simply too many of them these days as everybody gets to go to the university. The luckier ones may get higher salaries than our time but everything is a lot more expensive and there are their loans to pay, and a lot more things to spend on so they are not better off, that’s for sure.

  2. I like the kompia stuffed with minced meat and the ice red bean with jelly looks good for a hot day.

    Yes, all good…just that the prices were a bit on the high side – a lot more than my regular kampua and kopi-o-peng breakfast..

  3. I have yet to see any Kompia here in Malacca. 😀

    Then again…prices are surging and inflation is a real thing. Those with lower salary will definitely feel the strain. Sigh…hopefully things will become better.

    I doubt it! We’ll just have to learn to live with it…or as they say in Malay, ikat perut. Scrimp and save, plan for the future – especially those with children and spend wisely, go for the cheaper and more affordable stuff, don’t follow trends.

  4. Looks really tasty those stuffed kompia. I wish that it was available over at my side.

    You can always hop over one long weekend, everyone can fly!!! I assure you you will not regret it. Everyone who came loved it here!

  5. The last round I went to Sibu, it was RM1 for 3 pieces. Smaller for sure.

    Petrol increase or decrease, everything still same. Life goes on.

    Yummy iced red bean dessert. Make me miss ang tau sien chau now. Lol. I used to eat that a lot as a child. Mum and dad love dessert and eat together with belacan kangkong and belacan mee hoon. Those days, people loved to enjoy them as afternoon tea break. ^^

    First time seeing ang tao peng with sien chao. It was nice.

  6. Right. The prices never come down. Hubby says they always round things up but never down as well.

    Exactly. Any excuse they get, they will jack up the prices and no, they will never reduce them when there is reason for them to do so, those daylight robbers!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com