Where did she go…

She was here, initially and then she disappeared but later, we found her here and not long after that, she wasn’t there anymore. We really liked her beef noodles so of course, when I heard that she had moved here, we made a beeline to the place to see if she was the one.

I saw the celebrated kampua noodles guy there, popularly known by his nickname, Ang Kau (monkey), but I did hear that his name is actually Ah Soon. He has moved here too, it seems and has taken over the kampua noodles stall…

Yong Garden Angkau kampua mee stall

…and I noticed that he was also selling laksa and kueh chap.

I ordered a bowl of the latter (RM5.00)…

Yong Garden kueh chap

…to try and yes, I thought it was really very good even though it did not have any pig’s intestines nor liver in it and instead, there was a lot of the pig’s ears but I am not fond of eating that because of the hard white layer in it, the cartilage.

The soup was very light, not really like the regular kueh chap one would get here, there and everywhere, and was more like bak kut teh instead and I must say that I rather enjoyed it. Other than that, instead of the special chili dip that usually goes with kueh chap, they gave some sambal belacan (dried prawn paste)…

Yong Garden kueh chap & sambal belacan

…instead and with the generous squeeze of calamansi lime juice in it, I did like it quite a lot too.

Much to our disappointment, the beef noodles was closed – the lady had called in sick that morning so we decided to try some of the fried stuff from the stall next to it instead…

Yong Garden fried noodles stall

My missus loved the fried noodles (RM6.00)…

Yong Garden fried noodles 1

…very much and the lady sure was very generous with the prawns…

Yong Garden fried noodles 2

Of course, you simply can’t go wrong with prawns and anything with a lot of those is bound to taste really great.

When I paid her, she spoke in Malay, “Terima kasih!” (Thank you) and we only realised later that she was Iban (one of our Sarawak’s ethnic races) – I wouldn’t know whether she was the employee or the wife of the Chinese owner (who showed up later to close up the stall) but obviously, she knows what she’s doing and does what she does very well.

I had her tomato kway teow (RM6.00)…

Yong Garden tomato kway teow 1

…and yes, it had a lot of prawns too…

Yong Garden tomato kway teow 2

…and it was really very nice – not too strong on the tomato sauce like what I’ve had elsewhere and more like a cross between the Kuching-style tomato kway teow and the wat tan hor/ying yong version with the egg sauce/gravy. I sure wouldn’t mind coming back for this again or perhaps I would give something else in her menu a try.

Well, it looks like we will have to come back here again another time for the elusive beef noodles and if you’re thinking of doing the same, do take note that this coffee shop has its rest day on Thursday every week.

YONG GARDEN RESTAURANT CAFE (2.290559, 111.832248) is located at Foochow Lane in one corner at the back of the shops as you turn right into the lane. It is also accessible via Hardin Walk and as a matter of fact, it is more convenient to use this road to get there instead of the one aforementioned as it is actually beside this road on the left.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

13 thoughts on “Where did she go…”

  1. Yummilicious! I’m not a fan of kueh chap soup, so I guess this one with bkt taste will be enjoyable for me. Hahaha…

    I love the original kueh chap soup with the five spice fragrance…as long as they clean the kidneys well, so no smell. This one, no kidneys…so no smell. Good for a change.

  2. I like everything in kueh chap except pig’s ear too. Fried noodles & tomato kway teow looks looks great and would appreciate if they put more greens in both of them.

    There is thinly sliced Chinese cabbage in the tomato kway teow – that is a must when it comes to wat tan hor/ying yong Cantonese fried, not those green vegetables. Ya, there should be more green veg in the mee goreng that my missus had – there was a bit, just a bit. Maybe they ran out, close to closing time. After all, those green vegetables are cheap, not a problem adding more.

  3. Malaysians seem to have something for tomato sauce/ ketchup, i remember when i was young, my favorite was tomato sauce fried rice lol

    Eeeee…nice kah? I do remember adding tomato sauce to fried rice as a kid but these days, all I know is the Malay nasi tomato. Not really my favourite but I don’t mind having it sometimes for a change. Tomato kway teow…or crispy mee is a Kuching special, not so much here.

  4. Tomato kway teow for me. Definitely very red and good to hear it was good. ^^

    I pass on the pig’s ears. Lol.

    Just right – I do not like those too strong on the tomato sauce, like eating ketchup straight from the bottle. Kuching ones, still the best though I don’t really know where the popular ones are now. Long ago, my favourite was a wooden stall in a row of roadside stalls at Palm Road with its junction with Rubber Road, the other side…and I liked one at the Batu Lintang makan stalls too then, college days.

  5. good luck on getting the beef noodles the next time! third (or fourth) time could be the charm! 🙂

    Yet to go back there. Seems they close quite early, around 11 a.m. or so…and we usually venture out a little later than that.

  6. I’ve never seen tomato kway teow. Another Sarawak specialty?

    In the 70’s, only in Kuching. I love it! The mee too, they fry in oil till crispy and then pour the tomato gravy and all the added ingredients over it. Usually there will be shrimps and squid. The ones here are more like wat tan hor, the egg gravy with tomato sauce added. Not quite the same but nice too.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

