Choices…

Sometimes, I really wonder what is there for me to eat and more often than not, I would not want to eat the same old stuff every day. That is one good thing about the Bandong stall that I frequent very often in the morning. It offers an array of choices as it sells a variety of cakes, local kuihs and other delights and the best part is that very frequently, they will have something different for a change.

They have what is called soto ayam which I tried once but did not think it was that great. It was just nasi empit (pressed rice) topped generously with a lot of chopped spring onions and fried onions and they gave chicken soup to go with it. The first time I had something similar to soto was in 1973 at the Lontong House along one of those smaller roads branching out from Orchard Road in Singapore….and I remember they had the rice cut into cubes (somewhat similar to ketupat) served in something like sayur lodeh or sayur masak lemak (vegetables cooked in santan/coconut milk). I think I would prefer that a lot more. There was another stall in the Bandong vicinity selling lontong but theirs was not really anything to shout about and anyway, it is no longer in business.

However, the other day, at my regular stall, they came out with something different – the nasi empit serunding

Soto serunding

…where they gave the usual nasi empit cut into cubes together with some serunding (very tasty spicy shredded beef/ floss)…

Serunding

…plus a generous serving of satay sauce…

Satay sauce & nasi empit

I mixed them all together and ate. It was really very nice…and I would not mind having that again. The best part was that it only cost RM2.50! Real cheap…

Soto serunding 2

…and yesterday morning when I dropped by there again, they had nasi empit with chicken rendang plus satay sauce. Also very nice! Yum!!!

Don’t just take my word for it. Just drop by the place and have a look – I bet you will surely be spoilt for choices…

Footnote:
I usually go at around 8.30 a.m. and on some days, some of the things may be completely sold out, so perhaps one should go earlier to avoid disappointment, say around 6.00 to 8.00 a.m.