All alone am I…

Well, at this point in time, indeed, this is the only shop…

La'zzaty Cuisine

…in that newly-completed block of shops that stands alone right next to the Delta SHELL petrol station…

Delta SHELL petrol station

…across the road from the Sibu Buddhist Temple…

Sibu Buddhist Temple

It is a nice clean place, sparkling new and I heard from the lady there that they shifted here from their former location in the Bandong commercial area though I can’t recall seeing a shop by this name there.

I would say this is a much nicer area – the old place is getting rather congested, all kinds of stalls with a somewhat untidy assortment of canopies and extensions at what is called the Bandong Walk and more often than not, it is difficult to find some place to park the car and there is this very messy construction going on to revamp the place that seems to be going on and on and on like it is never going to end.

As a matter of fact, this block of shops took a very long time too but finally, it is completed and yes, it does look nice and parking is easy and free, all around the place. It may get kind of congested at certain times in the day because of the nursery/child care centre next door, to the right, but that will only be for a while and I’ve noticed that they have a pretty good system there – in through the main entrance and out through the exit on the other side, very orderly and smooth-flowing unlike some other places where it is a free-for-all with all the kiasu parents jamming up the road, double or even triple parking, never mind that they are blocking the way of other road users.

Anyway, getting back to the shop, the decor…

La'zzaty Cuisine decor

…is minimal and they do have nasi campur (mixed rice) for lunch.

I went to the food warmer/cabinet with the mosquito-netting covered sliding doors…

La'zzaty Cuisine covered food cabinet

…to have a look…

Some of their nasi campur selections

…and the gulai lemak cempedak muda

Gulai lemak cempedak muda

…caught my eye so I decided right away that I would have that for my lunch that day, no need to look at what else they had on their menu – that will have to wait till the next time we drop by here.

My missus had the sotong and the cempedak and one green veg (RM4.50) while I had this (RM5.80)…

My picks for the day

– the sotong and the cempedak too and I had a slice of fish and half a salted egg, three meat and one vegetable. I thought that was reasonably-priced and above all, we really enjoyed our picks. In fact, the cempedak was so very nice that I just had to tapao some home for dinner.

That certainly was a good start and for one thing, this place is also round the corner from my mum’s house so it is very convenient for us to stop by here for a bite which of course, means that we definitely will be coming back here again and again.

LA’ZZATY CUISINE (2.307198, 111.828479) is located along Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg on the left if you are coming from town, right after the SHELL petrol station, at its junction with Jalan Nibong. The Sibu Buddhist Temple is on your right on the other side of the road.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

19 thoughts on “All alone am I…”

  1. I like your picks except the sotong.

    I’m not really into sotong either – my girl and the mum love it, my girl especially. I prefer prawns. I was thinking of taking the chicken curry with lots of potatoes but they only had breast meat so I went for the sotong instead. They do it very well though, so fragrant with the serai and whatever herbs or leaves they added. Very nice unlike the Chinese places where they just coat with batter and deep fry and serve with mayo..

  2. I love that chunk of fish meat you had !! Feeling hungry now and since it’s rainy day, I go for Malay food too and teh panas! Have a good weekend !

    Rainy here too. Weather was fine all morning, rain just started. 😦

  3. I like that slice of fish you had – looks very tasty.

    I enjoyed that – it was good, nice change from the usual batter-coated and deep-fried or cooked in curry.

  4. what an interesting name, la’zzaty … it’s like a cross between lazat and lazy! 😀

    😀 😀 😀 I was wondering about the name too, how to pronounce it. Now that you’ve mentioned it, I guess it is derived from the Malay word lazat…but thankfully, no, it’s ty…not zy.

  5. I took chap farn this afternoon too.. for tonight’s dinner, it is only two sweet potatoes and they cost nearly RM4… chap farn is indeed cheaper than the sweet potatoes these days! LOL…

    So expensive? I dunno how much they are here – usually I would pick and pay…and I will not remember the price. No wonder my money always seems to disappear into thin air. Must be more careful, keep track of my spending. 😛

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com