Knowing me, knowing you…

I guess that’s her name, Azzuna, the lady from Batu Pahat, Johore, at this recently-opened place

Azzuna Kitchen

…at the Bandong shops here. She asked if I was a blogger – it seemed that she knew me from my posts on this place which used to be here in that same block of shops to the extreme right, nearer to the main road.

We dropped by the other day for lunch to see if there was anything worth going there…

Azzuna Kitchen, inside

…for but I did not see this initially…

Free tea & coffee

…as I did not venture into the shop till it was time to leave and I went to the counter to pay my bill.

My missus had the rice set with the ayam berempah and sambal tumis (RM6.00)…

Nasi ayam berempah 1

…which she said was good…

Nasi ayam berempah 2

…but nowhere near the very nice one with nasi kuning from this lady but that would only be available in the evenings.

I asked the guy who came to take our orders which would be their best and he suggested the mee racun Azzuna, kambing (RM12.00)…

Mee Racun Azzuna

I wish they had picked a much nicer name than that – Azzuna’s poisonous noodles with lamb but nonetheless, I went ahead and gave it a try.

It sure did not disappoint me at all as I thought it was very nice but I thought I would have loved it with rice instead of noodles…

Noodles

…and when I mentioned it to the people there, they said I could request for that and they could substitute it accordingly, not a problem at all.

I did not tell them this but though I enjoyed it very much, I did feel it was a bit too pricey. Yes, the lamb was so very nice – it was something like lamb stew, the meat was fall-off-the-bone tender and the gravy was like what one would find in a stew except that it was spicy so they probably had lots of chilies and dunno-what-else in it. However, considering that that was quite a lot of meat, what they could have done was to give just one slab of it instead of two…

Lamb

…with the noodles or rice with slices of cucumber or tomato or lettuce by the side and charge a more affordable RM6.50 or RM7.00 for that – this way, they could have two instead of one servings and make a little bit more, RM13.00 or RM14.00 in total instead of just RM12.00.

At this point in time, they did not seem to have a lot on their menu but I sure would not mind dropping by again sometime to check out what else they have to offer.

AZZUNA KITCHEN (2.314098, 111.825996) is located at the block of shops to the right of those at Jalan Bandong/Bandong Walk where the 1Malaysia Clinic is, to the extreme left (inside) right below the Bandong Gym.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

6 thoughts on “Knowing me, knowing you…”

  1. Nothing better to give than this name, mee racun Azzuna and you are so adventurous to give it a try. I guess the free tea O /kopi O is just temporarily for a certain period after the soft opening. Otherwise no business for the drinks.

    I don’t know, I didn’t ask. Maybe that’s their gimmick to draw in more customers?

    I think the mee was supposed to be fiery hot – when I was paying my bill, they asked me if it was spicy and I said no – it really wasn’t spicy to me and they were shocked – they said usually, Chinese do not take spicy stuff. That was true about the Foochows in Sibu in the past but times have changed.

  2. New rain! Gosh, what a name! I don’t mind the nasi campur.

    Huh? “New rain”? The mee was nicer, despite the name…and the price.

    1. Mee rain. I hate it when my “smart” phone correcting whatever I type. Lol.

      And what’s “mee rain”? 😀 😀 😀

  3. I thought I misunderstood the word “racun”, and laughed when you confirmed it was what I thought it meant!

    Somehow I keep thinking of it as mee hantu but then again, there is such a dish as the Devil’s curry right? Somehow it does not sound as bad as “racun”. 😀

  4. Free tea and coffee!? Excellent!

    That sure would go down well with their customers – everyone can just have that and save a bit on drinks.

  5. That lamb really looks so tender! Fall of the bone is the right way to do it

    Very expensive by our standard, NZD4 is so very cheap by the standard in NZ. Even without conversion, it is still cheaper than a bowl of Sarawak laksa there, NZD13.50 I hear. *faints*

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com