Sunday again…

Well, it was Sunday again and as usual, after the service at the cathedral, my missus and I went round looking for something for lunch and the other day, we stopped by here…

LMY Sibu

For the uninitiated, this is located in the area behind the Rejang Medical Centre here, to the left of Mitsu Shabu Shabu and Sushi Tie is right behind it.

I love the sio bee (70 sen each) here…

LMY sio bee

…even though they do not look as nice as those at the other places. In fact, I think among all that are sold in town, they’re my favourite though some feel they are a little bit sweet and not to their liking. I would say they’re definitely better than the somewhat popular ones here or those here or here or elsewhere.

I like how one can still feel the texture of the meat inside…

LMY sio bee - inside

Some of them have been beaten so well till they become rubbery like fish ball texture or perhaps, they contain too much flour and that makes them become like that and I am not a fan of those.

The tua pao (giant steamed buns) here…

LMY tua pao

…are also very nice but at RM2.80 each, I suppose I would not be having them too often.

The meat filling is really very tasty and they have a bit of egg inside as well…

LMY tua pao - inside

That morning, we had the sio bee and I bought the paos home for breakfast the following morning.

There used to be a nice kampua noodle stall here but now, somebody else is running it. I don’t know if it is any good as I have never given this one a try. There was a fried kway teow stall at the back – my daughter used to love coming here to eat that but they are no longer there. Somebody told me that there is something nice at the current stall but I cannot remember what. We had the beef noodles (RM4.00) from another stall there that morning…

LMY beef noodles

…but we did not think it was really great. There was a lady running the stall before but there was no sign of her that morning. We used to like hers but that morning, there was an elderly man doing everything at the stall so I am not too sure whether that was the husband or somebody else has taken over the business. The soup had very little beef flavour and was extremely strong on those spices like cinnamon sticks, star anise and so on. I asked for the special but we only got beef – no tendon, no gu tor (tripe) but to be fair, it was not that it was not nice at all…just that as far as beef noodles go, I think what we had here before was so much better and presently, there are a few other places in town that we would very much prefer.

Anyway, since this place is open around lunch hour on Sundays, we probably would drop by again soon…and perhaps, the next time around, we would try what they have at the other stalls.