The sweetest days…

The sweetest days would be the ones spent with loved ones, family or friends alike…and it certainly was one when I went out for tea that afternoon with my girl and the mum.

When she was in Sg Petani, Melissa would drop by the outlet of this franchise there but not frequently as she said that her friends would rather go to places like McD’s or KFC or Pizza Hut. She loves the blackforest cheese cake (RM7.00)…

Blackforest cheesecake

…so that was what she had that afternoon.

I tried the chocolate strawberry (RM7.00)…

Chocolate strawberry

…which was all right. Is it just me or do all their cakes taste similar somewhat?

My missus had their durian durian (RM7.00)…

Durian durian

…and she liked it very much.

Incidentally, somebody posted a comment right here in my blog (TWICE) sometime ago telling me that he would be coming home to Sibu to celebrate his kid’s birthday and asking me where he could order some fondant cakes for the occasion. Well, I didn’t know of any place then…but now I do! My niece had one for her engagement that day from this place and if I’m not mistaken, they have something along Wong Nai Siong Road here in Sibu (where the old Yien King/Chung Kuo restaurants used to be, opposite the Sarawak Hotel) as well…and it seems that you can order from this franchise shop too. However, they would need 7 days’ advance notice as they would get it done in Kuching and have it air-flown to Sibu. I saw some of what they have to offer on a catalogue and I must say that some of them look really nice. I love the bumble bee one the most! Personally, I prefer whipped cream though…or rich butter icing.

Business was slow that afternoon. There was only one other table of four persons…and later, I saw two people coming in but they left pretty quickly and by the time we left, there was another table of two. Despite that, service was extremely lacking and our orders took ages to be served, not that they had to cook and bake or anything! I spotted these slices of cake sitting pretty on top of the counter…

Poor service

…and there wasn’t anybody to serve them. My missus order a cup of long black (RM6.60) and she had almost finished her slice of cake before it came. Tsk! Tsk! I would not say they were shorthanded, not at all, as there were at least 3 or 4 of them on duty. Frankly, they might as well have self-service – we’d probably get to eat much sooner that way…and I would say that they badly need a refresher course in cutting those cakes!

Nevertheless, the less-than-satisfactory service notwithstanding, that was most definitely a nice outing for the family and you can be sure there would be more to come in the days ahead…