You get what you give…

As I said in this previous post, “As one gives, thus will one receive,” and that day, I gave my friend, Ivan, some of the celebrated kek lapis (layer cakes) from Sarawak. Little did I know then that my friends, Simon & Helen, in Kuching (whose daughter’s wedding I attended quite recently) would come to Sibu on a brief visit and guess what they brought me…

Helen's kek lapis 1

If you remember, I did mention then that Helen made this very impressive and majestic wedding cake herself…

Helen's wedding cake
*recycled pic*

…specially for her daughter on her very auspicious day and actually, she used to run a cake shop in the city many years ago until the family migrated to Christchurch, New Zealand where the children furthered their studies up to tertiary level. They have all moved back to Kuching now and Helen is still a household name to be reckoned with especially for her kek lapis…and I must say that I was so flattered that she went through the trouble of making one and bringing it all the way to Sibu specially for me…

Helen's kek lapis 2

Of course, I could not wait to enjoy her labour of love…

Helen's kek lapis 3

…as I too have heard lots of compliments from my relatives and friends in Kuching about how nice it is.

I tried a slice…

Helen's kek lapis 4

…and another and another….and I had to stop myself before I finished the whole cake in one sitting. LOL!!!

It really was so sweet and thoughtful of you two, Helen and Simon – thank you so very very much indeed.