Back at one…

I was here…

One Cent Sibu

once before when my blogger friends from the peninsula were in town and I went there again another time but we left because the mee sua stall happened to be closed that morning. In case anyone does not know where it is, it is among the LOT 9 shops along Jalan Pedada – the area on the opposite side of the road from Delta Mall and this shop is somewhere behind the Singapore Chicken Rice outlet there.

Well, I went there again one morning sometime ago for brunch…and despite the name, there was nothing there that cost just one cent.  My missus decided to have the lor mee (RM3.50)…

OneCent lor mee

…that was somewhat dark and she said it was all right but she would prefer the one she had here. She did not like the dip very much – it seemed to be something like bits of chili in black vinegar.

I ordered the bitter gourd mihun (RM4.00)…

OneCent bitter gourd mihun

…with lots of bitter gourd, minced meat and mihun in it…

Mihun

…and also some tomatoes and black fungus…

Black fungus & tomatoes

…and I would say that it was very nice – with a slight hint of the bitterness and taste of the bitter gourd and I was glad that they were quite generous with the minced meat. It was something that I certainly would not mind ordering should I happen to drop by the place again.

I also ordered the Sibu Foochow-style sio bee (RM5.00 for 5)…

Sibu Foochow-style sio bee

…which were very nice but I thought it was a bit expensive.

These jiaozi or more specifically, zhēngjiǎo

Jiaozi

…were similarly-priced but they were bigger and nicer with a lot of ingredients inside…

Jiaozi - inside

…and I would say they tasted nicer too.

All in all, it was a good brunch and I would say this is one place in town that would be worth checking out should you be looking for something to eat – you’ll be spoilt for choice here, I assure you.