I’m Luke…

Nope, he’s not that Skywalker guy…but somebody who happened to drop by my blog not too longer ago to comment. It turned out that he’s actually somebody that I know, the son of a friend from way back when. Well, he’s studying in Perth, Australia at the moment and is back in town on holiday…and so was Bernard, my ex-student, from Canberra.

Bernard called me the morning of my birthday just to say hi but he did say that it would be fine if I had things planned for the day – we could get to meet some other time. Well, since I had nothing on around lunchtime that day, I suggested that we went out for a while. He told me that Luke was around and asked if I would like to ask him to come along. Of course, I said I would – I always love to meet my fellow-bloggers and commentors in person anytime anywhere, so there we were…

@ Payung with Luke & Bernard

…the three of us at Payung. I reckoned that since they’d just come back from overseas, they would prefer something Asean, something more exotic.

I ordered all my favourites that I felt they would love, like the belimbing prawns…

Payung's belimbing prawns

…and the otak-otak, for instance…

Payung's otak-otak

We also had the lamb masala

Payung's lamb masala

…and the mushroom roll…

Payung's mushroom roll

I thought the masala was good but I would prefer it with a bit more of those fragrant Indian spices.

They had something new on the menu – the titek and initially, I thought it was some kind of a duck dish, itek being duck in Malay but it turned out to be tapioca leaves with sweet potatoes…

Payung's titek

Ooooo…it was so very nice and I really loved it a lot. Actually, I’ve cooked this combination before but as a soup. Hmmm…I must try and cook it this way the first opportunity that I get.

Well, we had a great time – eating and chatting…or at least I did. It sure was nice to see you again, Bernard and I’m glad to have made the acquaintance, Luke – guess we’re no longer faceless names on blogosphere, eh?