I want some more…

Last week, I went to the post office at Rejang Park here to send my Christmas cards, the ones going overseas. I don’t know how long it will take, two weeks perhaps, maybe longer.

Even the local mails will take ages these days. My cousin in Kuching sent me an invitation to her daughter’s wedding next month, postmarked 30th October…

Postmark

…and I only received it on the 11th of November, almost two weeks from Kuching to Sibu, believe it or not.

Well, I dropped by the stall there, the one that sells all the nice Chinese kuehs but they did not have much that day – according to the lady there, they had gone on a holiday so all those that they usually made themselves were not available. There were a few things made by people at home, left there for sale and in the end, I bought some of the Hokkien bak changs (meat dumplings – we can’t get the nyonya ones here), RM3.00 for the small ones with meat and RM4.80 for the big ones with meat and salted egg yolk.

The small ones had bits of meat inside, so little and so minute that one would hardly notice it was there. Thankfully, the glutinous rice was very tasty and was, in a way, a consolation.

The big ones…

Bak chang, big

…were really something. After so many disappointing ones from here, there and everywhere around town, I was so glad to stumble upon these. Even my missus who would always say that her late mum’s were the best, second to none, and never liked any sold at the shops and stalls, admitted that these were good.

There were a few chunks of meat inside, shitake mushroom and a salted egg yolk…

Inside

…and if you’re lucky, you may stumble upon a slice of pork belly with the yummy layers of fat. Slurpsss!!!

I also liked the fact that they used the traditional straw to tie them into big, perfect triangles…

Perfect

…unlike those that use raffia nylon strings – imagine those being boiled in the water with the changs until they are cooked!

Well, on Monday, I went back to the post office again to send more Christmas cards, the ones intended for the local destinations and of course, I felt I wanted some more, the big ones, no less so I walked back to the stall and went home happily…with half a dozen of those delightful changs!

LIM TIONG KHAY Chinese kueh stall (2.306707, 111.836471) is located beside the Chinese medical store among the shops at Rejang Park in the block facing Jalan Teruntum to the left of what was formerly the Zenith Mint Cinema.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “I want some more…”

  1. I will be pissed off and avoid all bak changs tie with raffia nylon strings. Plus point for them for using the traditional straw or the thick type of thread to tie their bak Chang. I prefer bak Chang of any kind with just meat and shitake mushroom minus the salted egg yolk or orh nee.

    You’re like my late mum…and my girl too, no salted egg yolk! I like…and I like or nee too! Added sweetness.

  2. I love such bak chang. I had some over the weekend.

    I prefer the nyonya ones but none here, some really good ones in Kuching. Hopefully when I go over, I will be able to grab hold of some to bring home, keep in freezer, eat slowly.

  3. when i first saw this, i thought, eh, is it dumpling season again? then i remembered – nowadays, it’s dumpling season all year round! 😀 the salted egg bak chang are my favourite kind too 😀

    Yes, can get them anytime of year! Wish I could get the nyonya ones here though. I prefer those.

  4. Nowadays youngsters don’t send christmas cards anymore, just send watsapp greetings, i still prefer to see the real christmas card, more personalized. The chang sure looks good, slurps!

    Yes, it is a lot more personal and meaningful especially the effort put in to send one.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com