Had to…

In my previous post, I said that I went to the post office at Rejang Park here twice to send my Christmas cards, the ones going overseas and the rest to their local destinations and while I was there, I bought some very nice Hokkien bak changs (meat dumplings) to take home.

The first time I was there, I walked past this coffee shop…

Leong Leong, Rejang Park
*Archive photo*

…and saw the photograph of their mango ice and I decided there and then that I had to go back and try some day.

I had this one (RM10.00)…

Mango No. 5
*Archive photo*

here sometime ago and I thought it was very nice.

The one here (also RM10.00)…

Leong Leong Mango Ice

…was good too and because this one was served in a bowl, it was easier to mix the mango on top with the shaved ice and evaporated milk below to give the latter a bit more taste unlike the other one where when one would be eating just the ice and the milk, one probably wouldn’t enjoy it as much.

I prefer how they cut the mango at that other place though, in big cubes but anyway, seeing how these do not come cheap, I don’t think I will be going for it all that often. Once in a long while is fine.

LEONG LEONG CAFE 亮亮茶餐室 (2.306688, 111.837028) is located at No. 42, Jalan Teruntum, among the Rejang Park shops, on the ground floor to the left (the inner side, not facing the main road) of the since-closed-down cinema complex.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

5 thoughts on “Had to…”

  1. I would love those mango in shaved ice too. Anytime for me. To me, RM10 for a bowl is quite reasonable as mango doesn’t come cheap. See they are generous with the mango. Pampering yourself once in a while is OK.

    Bought 4 small apple mangoes that day, all rotten inside and in the end, I did not have much to eat. Paid RM8.00 for them! That is why in a way, I would say RM10.00 ain’t too bad – at least, one gets to enjoy a lot of mangoes…and no need to peel and cut.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com