What I had in mind…

I went out early on Saturday morning and headed to the temporary site of the Jungle Produce Market at the Sibu Rejang Esplanade thinking that I could kill two birds with one stone – walk around to see what they had in store and at the same time, stop some place for breakfast. Unfortunately, I could not find a parking space even though it was so early in the morning so I headed to another part of town instead.

I managed to park my car and walked all the way here as it was too early and the place I had intended to go to was not open yet. We did not get to eat the curry lamb shank here that day so I thought I could buy two for our lunch and dinner that day.

Unfortunately, the place was closed and there were notices stuck everywhere but I did not bother to walk all the way to have a closer look. What I’ve heard is the place has closed down but some other people have taken over the place and will open an Indian eatery, with three chefs from India, in the not too distant future. I sure am looking forward to that.

On the way back to where I came from, I decided to stop by this place…

Wang Seng Food Centre

…instead. This was one of the earliest places where we could get some decently-good kolo mee, like the ones in Kuching. I remember I went there once with my girl when she was little and I had to park quite far away plus the place was very crowded and even though I liked what I had, I never went back again until quite recently when I tried the special there (RM5.00) and quite enjoyed it.

Gosh!!! It was just as crowded and as busy as before, years ago. Well, this time around, I just asked for the regular (RM4.00)…

Kolo mee 1

…and no, it did not taste like kampua mee disguised to look like kolo mee. I would say it was good and I certainly was glad that it came with the chili soaked in vinegar dip like what one would get when going for the noodles in Kuching.

Having said that, no, they will never give you a small bowl of complimentary soup there – there are places where you can order the very nice soup with the minced meat, fish balls and all the innards and what not like here or here but no, you will not get anything free there. Other than that, if you were to get any blanched green vegetables in your bowl of kolo mee there, it would be a sprig of sawi, not the khiew chai (curly vegetable)…

Kolo mee 2

…that I got that morning.

After having had my fill, I went on my way, did what I had to do…and headed home.

WANG SENG FOOD CENTRE (2.290256, 111.828019) is located along Jalan Wong Nai Siong right behind the Sibu Central Post Office.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “What I had in mind…”

  1. Not all places will give a bowl of complimentary soup to go with your kolo mee. Some will give if you ask for it, after all it is just plain bone broth with some spring onion thrown into it. The presentation of your bowl of kolo mee looks exactly like ours over here. Yummy!!!!

    Yes, it’s clear bone stock soup but there are places where it is very nice, very thick and rich plus the fragrance and taste of the spring onion and fried shallots added but most places, they dilute it so much that it tastes like plain water with msg added. I wouldn’t bother touching that!

  2. Yummm… I see kampua, I want! Hope they sell in Ipoh some day.

    You can buy the instant ones in Ipoh now, just that I cannot remember exactly where. You can hop over, no problem travelling all around the world – so near yet so far!

  3. The kampua mee looks pretty good. I also love sliced chilies in vinegar.

    Yes, this is one place where I would give the thumbs up for their kolo mee. Not all that we have in town are good, some are nothing like the real thing. I guess most of the wannabes over at your side fall into the latter category.

  4. I have never been here. It did looked good. I seldom ordered red for kolo mee, thinking it is all colouring. Once a while, it is fine. My boys like it because sweeter but I told them it is mostly colouring as some is really very red. They try not to eat after I told them. Lol

    It’s char siew sauce, dunno whether that’s colouring or not – what they use for marinating pork to make char siew. Personally, I’m not a fan – no char siew sauce for kolo mee, no dark soy sauce for kampua! I want to enjoy the original taste.

  5. cili with vinegar …like how we eat wan tan mee over here. It’s kinda weird when shop starting give cili padi with kicap for wan tan mee.

    That one goes well with Foochow fried noodles but many people here will just give bottled chili sauce for everything, so pissed off.

  6. They look delicious and I can’t really tell kampua mee and mee kolo apart! HAHA

    Come on over and I’ll give you a crash course on telling the difference. LOL!!!

  7. Looks good with the red colouring, oh that is char siew sauce, I thought is chili sauce

    Chili sauce will only turn the noodles a lighter shade of pink, not this red.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com