Small things…

Size doesn’t matter really for even if the prawns are small, just throw in a few into whatever you are cooking and they will add to the sweetness and bring the taste to a whole new level.

Well, I went back to this coffee shop here the other morning but no, I did not want the kolo mee that I had on my last two visits again, the special and the regular. In an even earlier visit, we had lunch from the chu char stall further in and I gathered then that it would go full swing around lunchtime and earlier in the day, they would be frying noodles and stuff at the stall next to it…

Fried noodles stall

…right beside the kolo mee stall.

I decided to try something from there that morning even though people have been telling me that the stuff from the Malay stall right in front is very good. Somehow, I did not feel like it at that point in time.

When I got to the stall, I saw that they had mee udang (prawn mee) for only RM9.00 and of course I had to order that even though I knew jolly well that at the price, the prawns would be rather small…

Prawn mee 1

It turned out that they were not that small after all – the ones at this size would be around RM30 a kg, smaller than the medium-sized ones that I would usually buy at RM50 a kg and there are the huge ones that would go up to as much as RM80 a kg.

They certainly were generous with the fresh cut chilies…

Cut chilies

These days, they are selling them at RM8-10.00 a kg and most places will not give you anymore and when you ask, they will give you grudgingly,  just a few miserable bits drowned in the soy sauce.

I was taken by surprise to find some slices of ginger…and chili…

Ginger and chili

…in the noodles. Usually we will add ginger to fish dishes to remove the fishy smell – I guess it serves that same purpose here but it was all right. There was just a hint of it in the gravy, the ginger…and no, despite the presence of the chili, it was not spicy at all.

The lady did ask me if I wanted the shell removed but of course, I said no, I wanted everything intact for my photographs…

Prawn mee 2

…and yes, I thought it was very nice and for RM9.00 while others are going for RM15.00 and above for one not-all-that-big prawn (medium), some places RM45.00 for one and a half and others even more than that where you will get one giant prawn (RM60.00), just one, I sure would not mind coming back again for this when I feel like it.

WANG SENG FOOD CENTRE (2.290256, 111.828019) is located along Jalan Wong Nai Siong right behind the Sibu Central Post Office.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

3 thoughts on “Small things…”

  1. With the shells intact, can suck the juice out from the prawn shells, yums!

    We usually don’t unless there are eggs/roe in between the legs but we do eat what’s inside the head.

  2. I would happily say yes if the lady ask me whether I would like to have the shell removed. One thing for sure if everything is intact I will suck and chew the head till bits and pieces. That plate of noodles looks appetising.

    I did wonder whether they will remove the head if they were to remove the shell. At Payung, they use pek hay and they will leave the heads intact and slit the shell along the top, easier to peel. At home, I will remove everything and keep the prawns for cooking, cho liao. Sometimes, I will boil the shell, heads, tails for the broth to cook laksa.

  3. Slurp. Yummy. I prefer the shells intact too.

    You do? Then you’ll get your fingers all messy. It’s finger-lickin’ good, eh?

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com