Seeing for the very first time…

I did mention in this post sometime ago, in September last year to be exact, that we dropped by here

Wang Seng Food Centre

…because I wanted the kolo mee that I remembered going to try once before because everyone said it was good and I think I did like it then. My girl was still in primary school at the time, if I remember correctly.

Well, it was closed that day but last Sunday, I was out early in the morning so parking was not a problem and there was no traffic congestion, no rampant illegal parking left, right and centre all over the vicinity and I finally could drop by for what I had been wanting to try all this time.

I am not sure if it is the same people…

Wang Seng kolo mee stall

…running the stall now. There was this lady manning it and later on, a guy appeared to give her a hand but she was the one doing the cooking.

I ordered the kolo mee special (RM5.00) and this was what I got…

Wang Seng kolo mee special

What? Kolo mee served in a plate? Now, that was my very first time seeing that. We usually have kampua mee in a plate but as far as I can recall, all the time I had kolo mee, it was always in a bowl.

Yes, it had the minced meat and char siew, real char siew and not the boiled meat coloured red that you will find at most kampua mee stalls just like the ones in Kuching, my favourites here and here.

It tasted great, not in any way like kampua mee disguised to look like kolo mee like some that you may find around here but of course, I added the vinegar and chili that came with it…

Chili in vinegar

…the usual that one would get when eating kolo mee in Kuching, and that sure brought the taste to a whole new level.

For the special, I had these bits of tofu puffs…

Tofu puffs

…and some bits of green vegetables as well as a few tiny prawns and fish balls…

Prawns and fish balls

Yes, they do have these add-ons at some kolo mee places in Kuching too and maybe other things like liver and what not.

I wouldn’t say whether it was nicer than the ones I like a lot in Kuching especially sometimes, when both are pretty ok, one has to eat the two side by side to be able to tell the difference so for now, I would just say it was good enough but RM5.00 is a little bit on the high side for me to go through all that hassle to go there and eat especially when I can have two plates of the very nice kampua mee here instead, minus all the traffic and parking woes and parking there is free some more!

WANG SENG FOOD CENTRE (2.290256, 111.828019) is located along Jalan Wong Nai Siong right behind the Sibu Central Post Office.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “Seeing for the very first time…”

  1. There used to be a stall at Taman Jurong selling kolo mee, now not selling anymore, miss it…

    I’m sure there are lots of others over there, even kampua mee too!

  2. Yes, usually kolo mee are served in bowl. So far, I never come across tofu puffs in kolo mee over here.

    Me neither.

  3. Not many serve kolo mee in plate. But very few did that, I seen before. Not in such flat plate though.

    You have? I haven’t, except for those in KL.

  4. eh, the prawns don’t look thaaaaat tiny la … still very visible, heheh 😀

    Hahahahaha!!! We’re used to our giant freshwater prawns…and those are prawns, these are tiny shrimps.

  5. We had kolo mee served in a bowl too in Parkroyal KL recently. My boys thought it was very good that they requested for second and third helpings.

    I would say RM5 for what you had is reasonable. We can never get anything like that here.

    Wowwwwww!!! Second and third? Gee!!! They will love it here if they enjoy eating stuff like that. Come, send them over! I’ll feed them well.

    Hmmmm…city prices mah! There was talk once about making Sibu a city – I sure am glad they don’t mention it anymore.

  6. In KL or PJ, breakfast places on weekend is packed and quite difficult to look for a parking lot. It’s quite common to serve kolo mee on a plate here, even in Sabah too. Haha

    Sabah? I think there, it’s konlou mee – not the same…and not as nice.
    I did have both here – the kolo mee was not quite like the real thing:

    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2008/09/12/on-my-own/

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com