Coming to an end…

The holidays are coming to an end. We’ll be driving all the way to my girl’s school in the jungle early this morning for their staff meeting and while she is at it, her mum and I will pass the time doing some spring cleaning at her unit in her teachers’ quarters and then we will come back home again for New Year’s Eve tomorrow. New Year’s Day, we will be going back all the way again as the students will be reporting that same day and the very next day, the new academic year will begin.

Over the past week or so, we did not go to any place new in particular. One Sunday morning, it was raining so we dropped by here for breakfast as it was rather convenient, dropping them off at the shaded hotel entrance. My girl wanted the Thai-style beef noodles (RM15.90)…

Flavours Thai Kitchen beef noodles

…which would have been enough for three – the serving is that huge!

However, I could not resist ordering their very nice pad Thai (RM16.90, small)…

Flavours Thai Kitchen pad Thai

…as well and we shared that between the three of us. That sure was a heavy brunch, enough to tide us over till dinner that day.

On another day, we wanted to have another go at the satay (RM2.00 a stick, beef)…

Colourful Cafe beef satay

here for lunch and I had their nasi lemak

Colourful Cafe nasi lemak biasa

…while the ladies shared their salad chicken platter (RM9.90)…

Colourful Cafe salad chicken

…which was so big that none of them would want to order that to eat on her own – they will never be able to finish!

We did drop by here

Le Cafe

…for lunch one fine day and we bumped into my friend/ex-classmate, Robert and his wife, Angela there. They had gone there for the very nice claypot chicken rice that we used to enjoy so very much before but we can’t have it now as there is soy sauce in it, not gluten free.

I had their beef rendang with rice (RM18.90)…

Le Cafe beef rendang with rice

…which I had tried a long time ago and yes, it was still nice, just not spicy at all so I did not really think it would be anything to get excited about, not to me, that is.

My missus liked her chicken chop with cola sauce (RM13.90)…

Le Cafe chicken chop with cola sauce

…and my girl enjoyed her sirloin beef with mushroom sauce (RM31.90)…

Le Cafe sirloin beef with mushroom sauce

They do have quite a wide selection here, some we would need to avoid as they are not gluten free such as those that are batter-coated and deep-fried, for instance, but there are other options on their menu for us to pick and choose, should we feel like coming here again another day.

FLAVOURS THAI KITCHEN  is located on the ground floor of the ORCHID HOTEL, along Brooke Drive at its junction with Jalan Tunku Osman – you can use its main entrance at the back of the hotel building (facing Brooke Drive) or go through the lobby past the reception desk if you are using its hotel entrance, and COLOURFUL CAFE (2.316673, 111.837539) is located in the Renew4U building at the junction of Brooke Drive and Lorong Kwong Ann 8, across the road from the Church of Jesus  Christ of the Latter Day Saints while  LE CAFE (2.299452,111.830832) is located along Brooke Drive at the Brooke Business Centre, on your left if you are driving from town, in that block of shops past Jalan Kumpang after you have gone past the building where the Sheraton Restaurant is.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

10 thoughts on “Coming to an end…”

  1. That salad chicken platter, the chicken is so huge, it looks like a pingpong bat.

    I’m so not looking forward to the boys going back to school. We are having so much fun and relaxed during the holidays, it is hard to get back on track 😦

    A prelude to the Empty Nest Syndrome. Imagine when they’ve all grown up, married, with families of their own, working and living elsewhere…or worse, they decide to migrate to another country far away…and you and William would be left on your own at home – I look at you, you look at me… Quick! Quick!!! Have some more! The chance of getting at least one staying at home with you in your old age is higher. Muahahahaha!!!

  2. Though I have no school going kids, how I wish the school holidays will never come to an end for simple reason of not heavy traffic congestion as my place was situated nearby a school and they have to pass through our lorong to get to the school. Sighhh!!!!….Just imagine!!!!

    Don’t tell me you stay near my uncle’s house. His lane is off that one from the main road going straight to SMK Stampin. The back of his house faces the school.

  3. I like the look of the nasi lemak – especially the sambal.

    The rice is ok, one of the nicer ones in town though not the best but the sambal is really very good, very spicy – the guy made it himself and he’s very generous with it unlike some of the Malay shops and stalls.

  4. RM9.90 and big chicken platter with salad and rice, what a steal!

    Yes, inexpensive but one must be quite a big eater to be able to finish that alone. 😀

  5. That was a huge chunk of chicken!! But I like it. I also think I wouldnt be able to finish it.

    Ooo. Chicken chop with cola sauce. I tasted with pork but not chicken. Cooked once pork belly with cola. It tasted nice minus the gas. ^^

    Yup. 2 more days and schools are starting. But another 1.5 months the kids will have a short CNY break.

    Wahhhh!!! Counting already? What plans?

    I had chicken with Cola once, a friend cooked. Sweet.

    Yes, this platter’s really big. Quite popular, I noticed. Size does matter, I guess. 😀

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com