New…

There used to be a lady at the kampua mee stall in front at this coffee shop and I was there twice, at least. I can’t say I had anything memorable so of course, you did not catch me rushing back there for more.

Well, they have a new guy now and I had his stewed pork noodles (RM5.00)…

e-Cafe stewed pork noodles 1

…the other morning. Boy! It sure was very very good!

I did not plan on going there, actually. I was driving past and I saw that there was somebody new running that stall, a plus-sized guy…

e-Cafe new guy, kampua stall

…assisted by a skinny young boy so I parked my car and went to have a look.

I’ve had stewed pork or stewed pork rib noodles at a number of places like the one here, for instance, but I can’t say I was impressed. For one thing, I did not really enjoy the kampua noodles tossed in the stewed pork sauce. Somehow I did not think they were all that compatible and did not go too well together.

It was a totally different story here altogether though. What I saw in the photograph stuck to the stall looked so good that I simply had to order it to give it  a try. The guy used the flat variety of the noodles, what we call mee pok

e-Cafe stewed pork noodles, mee pok

…and it was really good! It was not exactly the same but I thought the overall taste was a little bit similar to the mee kua/mee sanggul that my mum used to cook at home for us to eat during our growing up years. I sure enjoyed that so so much!

I must say that the guy’s photograph that I saw looked very much nicer – I think there were bigger (and maybe more) slices of the stewed pork but this…

e-Cafe stewed pork mee 2

…was good enough. You can bet your bottom dollar that I shall be back for more soon or maybe I will try something else from that new guy!

e-CAFE (2.311913, 111.846213) is the first shop right behind Delta Mall, Jalan Pedada – the block a little to your left if you are coming out of the mall via the back entrance.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

10 thoughts on “New…”

  1. Only 2 slices of stewed pork? Oppss… pictures are for illustrations purposes only. What you see in the picture is not what you expect to get in you food. I can forgo the 2 slices of stewed pork and instead ask for more minced meat.

    No, there were some more buried under the minced meat and the noodles, at least 6 altogether, I’m sure. But they were narrower than the ones in the photo – that one, two – one slice, looked so alluring!!!

    I’m the opposite. I was thinking that next time I shall ask for more sliced stewed pork, no need for the minced meat. At least you can actually SEE what you are eating. Have you heard what they throw into the minced meat that they sell to you at the butcher’s?

    1. I never buy those ready minced meat. I will pick my choice of meat and ask them to mince for me. Same as eating bak pao. You never know what is all inside the minced meat in the pao….🤭🤭🤭

      But that is you. You think these sellers will buy their minced meat upon special order? That will be the day.

      Yes, that is why I prefer pao with chunks of meat inside, however small or little…not minced meat…or worse, minced meat squeezed into a ball that will roll out at first bite! You probably can guess which place I’m talking about – the pao like that and the skin yellowish and rubbery.

  2. Yes, indeed the noodles looks good with the condiments there… and for that price, it is very reasonable too!

    Yes, I was expecting it to be RM6, glad that it costs less than that!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com