Changing partners…

I happened to be in the vicinity that morning and I decided to stop by here at this coffee shop…

e Cafe

…right behind the Delta Mall…

Delta Mall, back view

…the first one in the block before this somewhat more popular one, the second one in that same block.

I had the kolo mee there a long long time ago, in 2011, but it looked like somebody else is running the stall now, a very pleasant lady…

Kampua mee stall

The coffee that I had…

e Cafe kopi-o-peng

…was good and I liked the very nice and efficient workers (male) waiting at the tables – I think they were Indonesians. I took my seat at a table and one came quickly to wipe it clean and take my order. After he had served the drink, when I moved the glass for the “photo shoot” and the table was a little wet again, he came right away to wipe it again. At some places here, you would have to wave frantically and at times, even holler out loud to get some attention.

I ordered the kampua-kway teow combo…

e Cafe kampua kway teow combo

…to see if it was any good.

Yes, if you do not want the kampua noodles, at many places here, you can ask for kway teow or bihun or even ngiau choo boi (rat’s tail) instead, tossed in that same manner and served. These are gluten-free but I would be a little wary as I am not sure if there is any wheat in the chio cheng ( light soy sauce) used like how there is wheat in the bottled dark soy sauce.

Having said that, if you are not that fond of kway teow or you do not want the kampua mee, you can always ask for a different combination or change partners, so to speak. LOL!!!

Back to what I ordered that morning…

e Cafe kampua kway teow combo 2

…I thought it was all right, not anything to get me running back for more.

Gee!!! I can’t even remember how much I paid for that but if I am not wrong, that was RM3.00 a bowl…and looking at what the other customers were having, it looked like her fried kampua would be a better bet.

e-CAFE (2.311913, 111.846213) is the first shop right behind Delta Mall, Jalan Pedada – the block a little to your left if you are coming out of the mall via the back entrance.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

11 thoughts on “Changing partners…”

  1. The kway teow looks quite thick. I like to eat kway teow that is a bit thick so I think I will like the taste of your mix kampua.

    I’m the opposite. I’ve always loved the kway teow over at your side – very fine and smooth, very thin and translucent. I wish ours here is like that too.

  2. I love the red chairs!

    Lots here, those plastic chairs. You can buy them in different colours – red, yellow, green…and dunno what else. I quite like the grey ones, more subdued.

  3. The title sounds cheesy…LOL!!!… That looks like a good combination of kampua & kway teow. Frankly speaking I still prefer to eat kampua on its own and not mixed. For example, some people can eat durian with rice, not me.

    That’s a very very old song, Patti Page…or maybe you do know the Mandarin cover of the song, alongside the Tennessee Waltz, a hit at the same time. Seems that they did it while lamsing…I mean, dancing, in the old days – the emcee would call out, “Change partners!” and everyone would have to change.

  4. Good to have attentive worker to serve you.

    Hmm. Changing or not, I don’t think it appeals to me. ^^

    I was not thrilled by it either…and anyway, I do think there are nicer kampua mee, on its own or with pain sip, elsewhere – like the one at the other end of this same block of shops, for instance – Soon Hock. You can tell it is good by the crowd there every morning.

  5. I like the idea of combining kway teow with noodles, but I’ve never seen that being offered before.

    I can’t say it swept me off my feet. Pian sip (wanton) with the mee is a better match – I do enjoy that.

  6. Err… no thanks. I’d prefer to have my koay teow alone or kolo mee alone, not both at the same time LOL

    Oh? But you have a combination of two types of noodles in your Penang har mee, right? There are also fried noodles where they combine two different types together and they actually taste very good.

    But I would agree with you, our Sibu kampua mee is not so compatible with other types of noodles – not so bad with kway teow, bihun or rat’s tail tossed this same way – nice for a change but not together as one. Pian sip, our version of the wanton, is nice too, tossed dry this way and this one’s ok together with the mee.

  7. I will same with Ken, have kolo Mee alone…

    It’s kampua. Sibu kampua mee, not Kuching kolo mee.

  8. I’m so sleep deprived at the moment that all I’m reading in your post is “coffee” hee hee. 🙂

    You’ve been flying long haul, have you? I’m a poor traveller, can’t sleep on flights or rides. Will be totally worn out at the end of a trip.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

