He’s not there…

The other day, I was feeling like having some char kway teow (fried flat rice noodles) and was thinking of going here to tapao the lady’s very nice Penang char kway teow or sambal kway teow to take home and enjoy.

However, that coffee shop was a little out of the way from where I was at that point in time and since I was driving past this place, I decided I would stop there to buy the Penang char kway teow from the stall there – my missus and my brother-in-law like it a lot and I’ve had it a few times and I feel it is pretty decent – best eaten there.

Unfortunately, the stall was not open. It was all packed up nicely and pushed to the side, shackled and looking like it had not open for a long long time. Usually, when it was not open, it was not open – the stall would be left standing there, empty, that was all. They would not go to the extent of doing all that. Perhaps the guy had gone back to Penang, I wouldn’t know.

Anyway, since I was already there, I decided to just go to the chu char (cook & fry) stall at the back of the adjoining coffee shop and tapao some stuff from there.

I tried the fried chao chai hung ngang (big bihun with preserved vegetables) here a long time ago but I wasn’t exactly thrilled by it. Still, when I heard that they served that at the next stall here, I was planning to go back there and try. Unfortunately, before I could get down to doing that, COVID-19 struck so to this day, I have yet to do so.

I placed my order for the fried noodles at the aforementioned stall but when I saw that they had fried chao chai hung ngang (RM5.00)…

Jiali Cafe fried chao chai hung ngang

…I said that I wanted that too.

My girl had a bit of it and she said it was all right, not anything to get excited about and personally, she would much sooner go for the soup version. I tried it too and yes, I share those same sentiments about it. I guess it would pretty much be the same at all the stalls around town selling this – I doubt there is any that will get me jumping with delight.

In response to my post the other day, there were some comments on takeaways. Certain things are fine when you tapao it – chicken rice for instance, nasi lemak or nasi campur and all the rest from the Malay stalls and shops too but at Chinese chu-char places and restaurants, they usually coat the meat and seafood with flour and deep fry first and then they will cook the sauce and pour that all over it. By the time you get home, it would have gone all soggy and would not be all that palatable any longer.

As for the Foochow fried noodles (RM4.00)…

Foochow fried noodles

…I bought that morning, as you can see, the noodles had all bloated up after soaking all the gravy/sauce. Our yellow noodles is alkaline-free and does not have that smell that puts off a lot of people but they are prone to turning soft and soggy in soups. It is not so bad fried with gravy/sauce added and actually, it varies from place to place – the ones at some places may even taste a whole lot nicer when you buy them home and this happens.

As for this one here, in my missus’ words, it was all right, no wok hei fragrance, not really nice but there are others elsewhere that are a lot worse.

JIALI CAFE (2.292140, 111.841524) is located among the shops behind Medan Mall, Jalan Wong King Huo, a few doors away to the right of Junction Cafe,  facing the road leading to the Medan Hotel there.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

6 thoughts on “He’s not there…”

  1. I prefer not to eat the soggy, soft noodles which will make the dish less appetizing. I prefer it to be springy, al dante. 😀

    It may even taste nicer sometimes, “jip bee”, they say in Hokkien and Foochow fried noodles does not have that much sauce or gravy to turn it over=soft and soggy plus the texture is different, no such thing as al dente – you are not eating spaghetti.

  2. Usually for tomato mee/kway teow and laksa with gravy or sauce, the seller will packed them separately if you tapoa back whereas for chu char it is almost impossible to do so. Still the best is eat on the spot, piping hot.

    I actually liked to tapao Cantonese fried in KL, not hard and crispy anymore when I got back to the hostel, but very nice.

  3. Agree on tapau those wet food. Prefer to eat the shop. If tapau, just tapau the fried noodle, dry version.

    Yes, fried dry is fine, same with kway teow, bihun, all the dry versions.

  4. I prefer dry noodles with the exception of wat tan hor. Speaking of noodles, I made an impulse purchase at the supermarket this morning – fresh Japanese yaki soba. It is packaged with the sauce. Back home when I looked at the expiry date, it was 31-05-2021. Can last so long? The must be lots of preservatives used.

    You bet, and all the artificial enhancers. Best not to eat this kind of things too often.

  5. Speaking of Penang… (kind of)… I read today that it is in the green zone and starting to open up.

    It is? That’s great. Sibu is green too – in fact, most of Sarawak is except maybe, Kuching.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com