Show me how…

This lady was working at this place when they were at their original location here, serving the drinks and helping to cook the kampua mee before they closed down owing to some issues at the time and eventually, they reopened at where they are to this very day. She, of course, went on to set up her own place but she too closed it down and at this point in time, she is here.

Well, there are others like her, I’m sure, many of them from the ethnic races (Ibans) or Indonesians. Of course, somebody must show them how to cook and prepare the noodles and once, they are able to do it on their own, they can be entrusted to do the task on their own. There are a number of places here where they leave everything to these people and after being on the job for sometime, they are very fluent in Mandarin…AND Foochow!

I drive past this coffee shop…

Lifestyle Cafe

…right below the gym with that same name, virtually every weekday/working day as it is located along the way from my girl’s school back to our house and I noticed that it opens early every day and there are always quite a lot of people there.

Well, that day, I decided to stop by and check it out. The kampua mee stall…

Lifestyle Cafe kampua mee stall

…is run by an Iban lady, possibly one of those that I mentioned earlier.

I asked for the kampua mee with egg (RM3.00) and got the noodles, kosong (without meat)…

Lifestyle Cafe kampua kosong

…and one wok-fried egg…

Lifestyle Cage fried egg

Yes, the mee was great and the egg was done the way I love it!

I sure would not mind stopping by here again when I feel like it. No, it does not stand out but it is good, good enough for me to want to eat it again as and when the need arises and definitely nicer than the kampua mee that I have had the displeasure of eating at a number of places here.

I did not strike up a conversation with the lady – usually, I tend to do that, something that my girl says is quite typical of old people and something one would not catch her doing, speak to strangers like we’ve known each other all our lives! That is why I do not know anything about her – where she comes from, where she learnt to cook kampua mee and so on. Perhaps I shall do that the next time I go there.

LIFESTYLE CAFE (2.289728, 111.835320) is located right below Lifestyle Gym, among the blocks of shops beside the Jalan Tong Sang/Lorong Langsat junction.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “Show me how…”

  1. Yes, the egg was fried to perfection, the way I like it too. RM 3 for kampua kosong including egg is cheap. The other day I was having fried bihun with cangkuk manis (RM5 for normal) and ask to add on a fried egg.I was charge RM1.50 for that fried egg. All in all I pay RM6.50 for that plate of fried bihun.

    Yes, she used a wok, not a miserable non-stick frying pan like what most people at the classy cafes and hotels do.

    Yes, I was charged 1.50 too at one Malay place. One egg is around 40 sen each, RM1.10 for frying is daylight robbery!!! I think kampua kosong is RM2.00 so it’s RM1.00 for the egg…and to think that the usual 4 very thin pieces of meat is RM1.00, that’s really quite ridiculous too!

  2. speaking with strangers and finding out a little about their lives and perspectives can be pretty enlightening, and i agree it sometimes seems to get easier for those of us who get older 🙂

    Hmmmm…especially an old geezer like me, eh? LOL!!!

  3. I like the look of the egg, my type of egg. I find myself loving to talk to strangers, maybe i am getting old and lonely too, lol.

    Not lonely lah!!! Just being friendly. As the song goes, what the world needs now is love!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com