What’s that…

This coffee shop…

Emas Corner Cafe Baru

…is probably the branch of this one with the same name in the very congested part of town, hence the “baru” (new) in the sign.

Located to the extreme right of the blocks of shops where this coffee shop was, it sure looked like the lane had been gazetted and given a name…

Road sign

…by the municipal council.

Like the latter, this one too is located along the way home from my girl’s school and it opens real early as well, by around 6.30 a.m. which means that it is very convenient for me to stop by for a bite to eat for breakfast before heading home after dropping off my girl at her school at the break of dawn.

I did not want to try the kampua mee that day as I figured that I have had quite enough of that in my recent posts. According to the sign, it’s only RM2.70, 30 sen cheaper than most and looking around at the other customers that morning, it sure seemed very popular. There were a few people going for their steamed paos too – I wonder if those came from the very popular shop a few doors away. There was one stall in the middle that was not open yet but the chu char  (cook & fry) place at the back was in full swing already at that point in time.

I decided to try the lor mee from this stall…

Emas Corner Cafe Baru stall

…in front and was struck dumbfounded when it was served (RM5.00)…

Emas Corner Cafe Baru lor mee

Now, what on earth was that? It sure did not look anything like any lor mee that I had had before, nothing else other than the noodles, minced meat, green vegetables and one hardboiled egg.

However, to be fair, I would say it was quite nice even though it did not taste like the regular lor mee anywhere else. The broth was something like what one would find in stewed five-spice pork leg or duck, slightly thickened with cornflour but unfortunately, I would not say it was anything that I would want to go for again the next time I drop by here.

EMAS CORNER CAFE BARU (2.292229, 111.838162) is located to the extreme right of the blocks of shops along Lorong Tong Sang 1B at the junction of Jalan Tong San and Lorong/Jalan Langsat.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

10 thoughts on “What’s that…”

  1. The only thing right is the hard boiled egg, other than that does not qualify as lor mee, the usual lor mee should have pork belly, ngo hiang and fried fish pieces as its ingredients.

    It sure looks like lor mee in Singapore is something totally different altogether.

  2. I am never a fan of lor mee and I haven’t got the slightest how lor mee taste like. Is the broth make of lor tng?

    Long long ago, the broth for lor mee was thick, almost gooey with traces of egg (like in wat tan hor egg gravy but only a bit, not so much egg) and fermented beans (tau cheo) PLUS it was a bit sweet with a hint of five spice powder (ngor hiang hoon). The same yellow noodles was used and on top, there were char siew, tauhu pok, kangkong and half a hardboiled egg…and it had its special chili dip to go with it. I have yet to come across any quite like it – all very different, some quite close but not quite there.

    On the whole, I would not say it is something I would die for – nice but not THAT nice, just will go for it sometimes for a change.

  3. I wish I could find good coffee near me open early hours. The earliest most seem open here is 8:30am which is far too late for when I leave for work at 6:30am.

    I have friends in KL and the surrounding areas sending their kids to school and going some place for coffee, too early to go to work. I wonder where they go to – so far, I only know of some 24-hour mamak places.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com