It is good…

The first time I was here, I saw that the kampua mee was going for only RM2.70 only, between 30-60 sen cheaper than most, but I did not have that that morning.

The second time I went, I was a bit too early at around 6.45 a.m. and one of the two ladies there told me that the guy…

Emas Corner Baru kampua mee guy

…would only be there by 7.00 a.m. so in the end, I went to the coffee shop at the far end of that same block.

Well, I stopped by there again that day at around 11.30 a.m. so of course, I was able to get what I wanted…

Emas Corner Baru kampua mee 1

…and yes, the complimentary soup had taste! I guess if you do not go at the crack of dawn and the broth has had the chance to simmer the whole morning, it would be a lot tastier.

Now, if you go around town and ask which kampua mee is good, you will get a whole lot of conflicting answers. Everyone would declare his or her choice as the best in town and as a matter of fact, I’ve gone and tried them all. Suffice to say, some were o.k. while I could not see why some of the others are in some people’s favourite list when there are others a whole lot nicer.

Well, if it is the original kampua mee taste that you are looking for, the authentic old school flavour that we grew up enjoying, I would rank this one here (RM2.70)…

Emas Corner Baru kampua mee 2

…as among the best in town.

There was that very much coveted fragrant shallot oil (lard) and the generous garnishing of spring onion and fried shallots…

Emas Corner Baru kamoua mee 3

…sure contributed towards my enjoyment of the dish.

However, if we are looking for authenticity or originality, this one fell a little bit short when it came to the meat as it wasn’t the char-siew wannabe – boiled meat, coloured red and sliced extremely thinly. This one tasted a little bit sweet – I think it was stewed or braised pork which I enjoyed very much, of course!

My favourite is still this lady’s here, more or less the same as the one here but the die-hards will tell you those are not authentic and do not taste like the original, more a cross between Sibu kampua mee and Kuching kolo mee. Well, if that is what they prefer, I am pretty sure they will like this one.

EMAS CORNER CAFE BARU (2.292229, 111.838162) is located to the extreme right of the blocks of shops along Lorong Tong Sang 1B at the junction of Jalan Tong San and Lorong/Jalan Langsat.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “It is good…”

  1. I like original kampua mee taste, hungry just looking at it.

    I hear you can get some good ones in Singapore. I did blog about those places once.

  2. I always go for the original kampua. As I was told, the meat should be very thinly sliced and if you on the fan it is going to fly off….😄😄😄

    That’s the joke people crack about Sibu Foochow kampua, the meat slices are so so so thin. Would need a skill to slice like that, actually – they do not do it so well, anymore.

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed the kampua mee. Shallot oil always elevates the taste of noodles and soups.

    It must have shallot oil. Even when I cook my own noodles at home, even though I use cooking oil, not lard, I would peel and slice a shallot and fry till golden brown and use the oil to toss the noodles, and use the fried shallot for garnishing, with my own-grown spring onions too. All these will make a whole lot of difference!

  4. Still can’t get past that you are able to find a meal for under RM3!

    And the best part was it was very good! No shortchanging! Hard to believe, eh? Only in Sibu! That was why when I went to Kuching or Miri end of last year, I could feel the pinch.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com