Nothing else…

I dropped by here…

Noodle Cafe

…one afternoon as I wanted to check out the new place but it was not open. I was quite positive that I saw it open every day when I drove past on our way home after picking my girl at school before 1.00 p.m. Perhaps like most places here, they close at around 2.00 p.m. – some may reopen at around 6.00 p.m. to catch the evening and nighttime crowd. The hotpot place next door was but no, I would not be interested in that at any time of day, thank you very much.

I walked around that row of shops to see if there was anything else I could have for tea and I stopped by this coffee shop below the gym but there were just the kampua mee stall…

Lifestyle Cafe kampua mee stall

…manned by the very nice and friendly Iban lady and the chu-char (cook and fry) place at the back open, according to the equally nice Chinese lady running the coffee shop.

I did not want the kampua mee again so I decided to give her kolo mee (RM4.00) a try…

Lifestyle Cafe kolo mee 1

It tasted all right, more like kampua mee, I would say, right down to the chili sauce given. By right, we would get sliced chili soaked in vinegar with kolo mee.

The minced meat…

Lifestyle Cafe kolo mee 2

…looked like it had been reheated over and over again many times till it became rather salty, not something to my liking and the serving was really huge – in fact, I was quite shocked when I saw the lady taking the noodles to cook so of course, I did not finish all of it. All I wanted was something light for tea but there was nothing else.

While I was eating the noodles, I saw the coffee shop lady serving some sio bee (meat dumplings) to some guys at another table. Hey!!! I would want those instead of noodles! In the meantime, I saw a young guy walking past with a plastic bag filled with steamed paos (buns). Wait a minute! I want those too!!!

I walked over to the shop – I had not seen it open, not since COVID-19 so I bought a few to keep in the fridge and steam to reheat for my breakfast in the morning. Much to my surprise, the lady sold them to me at RM2.10 each…

Hua Kiew Road pao, RM2.10

Looking at the earlier blogpost, they were RM2.20 while years ago in 2013, they were only RM1.80 each.

These days, I have to send my girl to school extra early as she has to help take care of the kids and make sure they observe the SOP so most of the coffee shops would be closed and I do not quite fancy going to the same ol’ places and eating nothing else, just the same ol’ things and the photographs, taken in the dark, do not come out nice and I think I have had enough of instant noodles for the time being.

The bak paos (steamed meat buns) would be a welcome change for my breakfast at home and I also stopped by this bakery to buy their lovely swiss rolls

Yat Bakery swiss roll, yam

…now RM7.00 each, it was RM6.80 before – I can enjoy them for breakfast as well, or for afternoon tea.

LIFESTYLE CAFE (2.289728, 111.835320) is located right below Lifestyle Gym, among the blocks of shops beside the Jalan Tong Sang/Lorong Langsat junction and HONG CHENG BREAD HOUSE (2.291838, 111.838213) is located among the block of shops to the right of the junction of Jalan Tong Sang and Lorong Langsat if you are coming via the latter from the roundabout at Jalan Pedada near Rejang Medical Centre and YAT BAKERY (2.293035, 111.835887) is located along Lorong Chew Siik Hiong 1A, directly opposite the since-closed-down Uncle Dom, at the other end of the block of shops where Sushi Tie is in the commercial centre behind the Rejang Medical Centre.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

4 thoughts on “Nothing else…”

  1. I notice the serving of kampua and almost everything in Sibu are served in huge portion and yet they are more cheaper compared to Kuching. I guess Sibu people are big eaters….πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†. I would love the Swiss roll and steamed paos. Nowadays eggs in steamed paos are getting smaller and smaller (1/8 size) over here which used to be 1/4 last time.

    In the past, yes – during my younger days. The Foochows wanted quantity, not quality as they had to work hard and needed something to last the whole time. That was why people at the time said Foochow food was the worst, no taste etc…etc…etc… Not so bad these days. Lots of Foochows migrated to Kuching now – bet the servings are getting bigger over there! LOL!!!

  2. Guess now teachers have extra jobs to do. More time-consuming especially if the kids are not well-behaved.

    The swiss rolls look kinda colourful. πŸ™‚

    Not really, very pale shades – I had to edit the photo to make it look more colourful and stand out a bit more.

  3. I like to eat at odd times – mostly when no one else is around so I appreciate those restaurants that don’t close in between service.

    Unfortunately most close between two to five so come teatime, there isn’t much one can go and eat.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com