Come another day…

I heard about a stall here selling Bovril mee so I just had to go there and try. Unfortunately, it was closed so I ordered this roti canai

Roti canai

…and roti telur

Roti telur

…for my girl, my favourite in town but of course, that was a lot and I had to help her with them. There were a number of other customers, Chinese, and most everybody had the roti canai – it sure is popular around here, obviously.

The mum had the char chu (fried and then cooked) mee (RM7.00)…

Char chu mee

…our soup version of the Foochow fried noodles, from the stall next to the one selling the Bovril mee and she loved it! It had intestines in it and that accounted for the higher-than-usual price tag.

I asked for the char kway teow with see ham

See ham

…from that same stall but though it was nice, it did not have that wok hei fragrance so it (RM7.00)…

Char kway teow with see ham

…did not get me all excited and of course, I wasn’t all that pleased with the use of plastic and melamine plates and bowls.

I shall have to go back another day to try the Bovril mee or perhaps I would check out the Malay stall there (also closed – it does not open on Sundays and until 1.00 p.m. only on weekdays). It claims to be selling Kelantanese cuisine and what I saw in the photographs did look very good, just that I did not see any of our favourite East Coast delight, their nasi kerabu. Sigh!!!

TWIN CORNER (2.293179,111.820821) is located at the back at the corner of the block of shops to the left of Paramount Hotel, Jalan Kampung Datu.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “Come another day…”

  1. The char chu mee looks good and I think I will like it. Was surprise to see the see ham with the shell still intact in yr CKT. They should have dig out the flesh, isn’t it? That is the usual practice.

    A lot of clams in the char kway teow, all without shells, only this one. See my reply to zmun2 above.

    Have not seen it done anywhere else – as a matter of fact, we do not have ckt with see ham here. Some places, we see the sign but they tell you no see ham and they will give you more prawns instead…and worse, some use the canned ones e.g. at one place for their nasi lemak sambal.

  2. Bovril mee sounds interesting… dont think I’ve ever come across that before.

    The one here is only RM5, can’t wait to give it a try. I saw it at a classier place, around RM20…so of course, I gave it a miss. Another place here has Bovril spaghetti on their menu, yet to go there and see. I do cook it at home sometimes, very very nice!

  3. Bovril mee?! sounds rather exotic 🙂 ..

    was there supposed to be an ending to this sentence below? 😛 .. so it “didn’t hit my chords”? 🙂 ..
    “…from that same stall but though it was nice, it did not have that wok hei fragrance so it (RM7.00)…”

    Bovril? Exotic? Golly gee! Have you been drinking…at this time of day? What chords are you talking about? That sentence continues right after the photograph of the char kway teow – I do not see any flats or sharps in it.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com