Anchors aweigh…

I do feel that if you have a coffee shop, it is very important to have a good anchor tenant, one that will draw the crowd and contribute to your business.

This place…

Twin Corner

…was a hot favourite once so much so that it was so difficult to get a table but not too long ago, the chu char people at the back moved here and each time I drove past, I noticed that the place was pathetically quiet and it sure looks like it badly needs a new coat of paint.

I do think the location is very nice, overlooking a stream and this park on the other side and the twin towers…

Twin towers

…beyond and parking around here is not so much a problem as in the town centre proper.

I decided to stop by the other morning as I wanted to see if the stall selling my favourite roti canai in town was still there or not and indeed, it…

Roti canai stall

…was!

I had the roti canai kosong (RM1.20) and the roti telor (RM2.00)…

Roti canai

…and yes, both were as good as before and what I liked most about this place, compared to the rest, was the dhal dip…

Dhal dip

…and yes, that too was very nice still – thick and rich with lots of dhal and it was a little spicy which made me enjoy it all the more.

There is a kampua mee stall that wasn’t there before and it did seem to enjoy quite a bit of business unlike the Malay stall on the other side. The chu char place at the back was closed – I guess they could not find another tenant to replace the one that had left and there was a stall selling fried noodles – I guess the lady there wasn’t Chinese, probably Iban, as I heard the kampua mee guy speaking Malay to her. There was another stall there in between the Malay and the fried noodles stall, also vacant at this point in time.

I was glad to see quite a number of people going there for the roti canai

Roti telur

Hopefully, it will continue to enjoy good business, good enough to keep it going so I can always go back there for more as and when I feel like it.

TWIN CORNER (2.293179,111.820821) is located at the back at the corner of the block of shops to the left of Paramount Hotel, Jalan Kampung Datu.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “Anchors aweigh…”

  1. The dhal dipping looks a bit different in the sense that it is not as mushy as some are. I do come across some dhal dipping that are so watery and diluted. At least this one has bits and pieces of dhal to bite on.

    Yes, I’ve had dips so watery, no sign nor taste of any dhal and some even had bits of long bean swimming inside. I don’t like those, not at all.

  2. I am longing for warm roti canai right now! When I was small, I used to eat with sugar.

    Never had it with sugar but I sure do not mind it with curry gravy.

  3. It really is amazing how just a simple coat of paint can enhance a place.

    Indeed and in the hot and wet tropical weather here, they would need to do it regularly. The MP and mayor here before, since deceased, insisted on them doing it once a year – the buildings in the town sure looked a whole lot nicer at the time.

  4. i love thick dhal too that’s rich with ingredients you can still clearly see, like carrots and potatoes 😀

    Oh? Never came across any with potatoes and carrots here.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com