Equal…

An old friend, Ah Eng, used to run the char kway teow (fried flat rice noodles) stall here and her business was so good that everything would be sold out by 9 something, before 10. One fine day, she felt that enough was enough and decided to call it a day – according to the son, my ex-student, her legs could not take it, standing there and frying her noodles, plate after plate, every day.

This very friendly and chatty lady…

Kopitiam Fantasy kway teow stall

…took over her stall and my missus did try her sambal kway teow once and she loved it – equal to Ah Eng’s, she said, a fitting successor.

Yes, they open very early in the morning and the other day, I decided that I could do with a change from the usual kampua mee breakfast and dropped by this coffee shop and much to my delight, it was open and the stalls were already in full swing.

I ordered the lady’s Penang char kway teow (RM5.00)…

Kopitiam Fantasy Penang char kway teow 1

…and it was really very good. Other than the one on top, there were 4 or 5 more prawns hidden underneath the noodles and she sure was very generous with her slices of lap cheong (Chinese sausage) and there were bits of pork in it as well. I wish she had cockles too but I guess I would just have to do without those.

I tapao-ed her sambal kway teow (RM4.00) for my missus and I loved her own-made chili dip…

Kopitiam Fantasy Penang char kway teow 2

…so much that I simply had to ask her for a bit and she willingly obliged. As she was eating what I had bought home for her, my missus asked where I bought the so-very-nice kway teow and she gave the chili dip her double thumbs up too. It was quite spicy but our threshold level is very high so we did not feel it that much.

Incidentally, the coffee (RM1.70) was great too and one thing’s for sure, I certainly would be dropping by there again…soon.

KOPITIAM FANTASY, otherwise popularly known as Tiam Tiam Lai (2.292435, 111.835066), is located among the shops in the Jalan Chew Siik Hiong area of shops behind the Rejang Medical Centre, facing Jalan Mahsuri.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “Equal…”

  1. That is very cheap with prawns and lap cheong. Over here, with taugeh and egg RM5. Add on meat is RM5.50 and bear in mind no prawns and lap cheong. I guess that will cost a bomb if added.

    I had in Penang, RM8.00 but their prawns were bigger. That was a long time ago though, dunno the current prices.

  2. The char koay teow looks very good from your photo. How nice that you have a place to go to whenever you need a good char koay teow fix.

    Yes, there’s another place that is quite good too but it is out of the way…and there’s another one that is nice but you get three tiny shrimps in a plate, no more no less. So calculative that guy – originally from KL. LOL!!!

  3. the char kwey teow does look a tad wetter than the usual ones we have in Penang, but its the taste that matters! Plus, the more ingredients inside, the better!

    Probably the reflection owing to the florescent or LED lights – it was at the break of dawn. Would probably look a whole lot nicer in natural daylight but these days, I stop at places to eat before the sun rises so you can expect more of such not-that -great photos all the time.

  4. I have often thought what a tiring job running a stall must be.

    Yes, one lady told me that the money was really good – they’re all millionaires, of course, if they do not succumb to bad habits like gambling. Many fall prey to the habitual vice. However, she added that it was not that easy, standing all the day – her legs could not take it so she took time off for a year!

  5. Being a hawker is tough job, long hours plus very warm.

    The CKT looks yummy, but I want my cockles 🙂

    Best to avoid those these days – you have not been reading the news, have you? Those at your side especially, from the Straits of Malacca.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com