It took a long time…

It sure took me a long time to go and check this place…

Sri Pelita Permai Islamic Cafe

…out – the other outlet of this place in the town area that we do frequent quite a lot.

Well, I was in the vicinity that morning so I decided I would do just that. I looked at the menu…

Menu

…and asked for the chapati but the girl said it was not available and neither was the tosai. I asked if they would be available in the afternoon and she said no, they were simply…not available anytime of day. I must say that Miss Congeniality she sure wasn’t and I was kind of pissed off by her attitude.

I looked around and saw most of the customers having their roti canai or their fried noodles. Somebody was having a bowl of noodles in some kind of soup and it looked quite good but I did not see anything of the sort on the menu on the wall. I asked the girl what would be good and she suggested their nasi lemak so nasi lemak it was, just so I would be done with the ordering and get her out of the way. Tsk! Tsk!

I asked for the special (RM7.00)…

Sri Pelita Permai nasi lemak special 1

…and looking at the price tag on their cabinet…

Food cabinet

…fried chicken was RM3.50 a piece so that was why the non-special nasi lemak would be RM3.50 a plate and RM8.00, if you chose the lamb curry.

Nope, the rice was disappointing, not lemak at all, the fried egg was all right though a bit under-done but the sambal was very nice and spicy…

Sri Pelita Permai nasi lemak special 2

…and the chicken, even though the piece that I got was breast, was very nicely marinated with whatever and I did enjoy it very much.

I saw this sambal egg (RM1.50)…

Sambal egg

…and I asked for one but though it was nice, it was not spicy, not even a little bit so it did not get me all excited, not at all.

Service was great and everything I ordered came in a jiffy and the kopi-o-peng I had was o.k. but at RM2.00 a glass, I thought it was a little bit overpriced compared to what they are charging at all the other coffee shops in town.

All in all, it was a good enough breakfast – I thought it was a bit better than what I had once at the coffee shop next door which incidentally was kind of quiet and empty that morning, not as crowded as this one which seemed to enjoy bustling business that time when I was there.

SRI PELITA PERMAI Islamic Cafe (2.2960502,111.8938157) is located along Lorong Ulu Oya 11, off Jalan Oya among the “newer shops” in the Permai area across the road from the Sibu General Hospital, where the outlets of Sugar Bun, Singapore Chicken Rice and 7 Eleven are situated.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

6 thoughts on “It took a long time…”

  1. Breakfast itself cost over RM10, so it seems… but this meal could last me throughout the day till dinner so it justifies. hahahaa… By the way, how come they don’t serve capati and tosai even though they are listed on the menu? Normally those are served during breakfast and lunch will be just rice.

    Maybe the guy making those has left? They usually would have some guy from India here to make those. I did not go and have a look – dunno if they had another one making the roti canai or whether they had a local doing that.

    Yes, RM10.50 altogether including the drink and yes, I was so very full – that huge chunk of chicken with the nasi lemak would have been enough but I really wanted to try the sambal egg.

    Well, considering that it was around £2, I bet it would seem so cheap to folks over where you are now. Even way back in the 90’s when it was RM3.50 to a £, there wasn’t much one could get for that kind of money.

  2. Nasi lemak look ok, that much I can say. The other day, the egg was over done and this time was under done. They should have paste stripe of paper over the two words and wrote “Not Available” to make it easy for customers.

    Indeed! Just use masking tape like what they did for the “revised” prices of some of the items. Well, one egg coming up in tomorrow’s post that is absolutely perfegggg!!!

  3. i guess miss not-congeniality recommended the nasi lemak cos it’s the easiest thing to recommend, heh 🙂

    Dunno…and that too, she said like sort of grudgingly. Such unfriendly people should not be in “customer relations”. LOL!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com