Street of memories…

I blogged about Old Street here in Sibu before, now renamed Jalan Chew Geok Lin – after the founder of Wah Tat Bank, one of Sibu’s own banks at the time and it was located along this street…

Old photograph - Wah Tat Bank

…a few doors away from where my father’s shop (No. 8) was. Initially, my father was sharing with his father, my grandfather, who had his own business at the time and his shop had the same name as this coffee shop that I went to check out that day.

Now, in that same vicinity, there is this coffee shop…

Old Street Cafe

…so of course, I was intrigued and kept on wanting to drop by to see why it was thus named and finally, I did.

I don’t think those pictures on the wall…

Pictures on the wall 1

…were of Old Street in the old days…

Picture on the wall 2

…and if they were, it sure did not look anything like what it looks like today…

Old Street today

I think the shop is Chinese-owned but I noticed that the employees were Malays – one of them told me that they only serve chicken there, nothing else…

Old Street Cafe, kitchen

My girl wanted their roasted chicken rice, drumstick (RM4.50)…

Old Street Cafe roasted chicken rice, drumstick

…and yes, it was good. I did try the rice and I thought it was much nicer than many around here where one might as well be eating plain rice and would not be able to tell the difference.

My missus ordered the fried noodles, wet (RM4.00)…

Old Street Cafe fried noodles, wet

…and she liked it. I must say that it had a lot more ingredients than many around here for that same price or sometimes, even more.

I had the nasi lemak, chicken curry (RM6.00)…

Old Street Cafe, nasi lemak, chicken curry

…and the rice was quite lemak, not lemak enough to get me all excited but a lot more lemak than many that I had had before including the one at the Malay/Muslim stall at that coffee shop round the corner. The sambal was great, a little spicy and the chicken curry was all right, a little sweet but all right.

The Malay girl who took our orders recommended their special for the day, the ABC soup (RM5.00)…

Old Street Cafe ABC soup 1

I’ve heard mummy-bloggers and friends blogging or talking about it but I really did not know what exactly it was. All I knew was the other ABC, the air batu campur.

In the end, we decided to give theirs a try so we ordered a bowl…

Old Street Cafe ABC soup 2

…to share and even though there weren’t all that many things inside – just quite a lot of chicken and potatoes, some tomatoes and bits of Bombay onion, we all agreed that it was really very nicely done and we all loved it very much. I sure would not mind ordering it should we happen to drop by here again.

Incidentally, this place, just two doors away, that we checked out earlier this year has closed down – either they have moved elsewhere or called it a day…and we did drive past this Korean place a few days earlier and my missus saw a FOR RENT sign on the wall – I guess that one too is in the same boat, so to speak. Sighhhhh!!! Things sure aren’t looking all that good these days, are they?

OLD STREET CAFE is located at UniCity (2.342337, 111.831781) is located along Jalan Wawasan, on your left if you are coming from Bulatan Teng Chin Hua in the vicinity of the University College of Technology, Sarawak, Kolej Laila Taib and Woodlands International School, heading towards the Batang Igan Bridge.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “Street of memories…”

  1. All the food looks good except that the ABC soups looks abit too oily, or was it due to the lighting effect. I would have the black spot of the potatoes peeled off.

    Yes, the eye! I had to scoop it out of the chunk of potato before eating…and no, it was not oily, maybe it was the lighting – we sat inside…or rather, my missus took a table inside, dependent on the florescent light – not ideal for great photographs. But chicken soup, if you keep on simmering for a long time, it will taste nicer – sweeter…but the oil from the skin or the fat may start floating on the surface. At home, we would take out our oil separator…but this was all right, not oily. We finished it till the last drop!

  2. Long time didn’t cook or eat ABC soup. With lots of carrots, potatoes and onion. ^^

    The nasi lemak makes me craving for one right now. Haha.

    Yes, I remember seeing carrots in those that I saw. Maybe I can try and cook it sometimes, shouldn’t be too difficult.

    1. Not hard at all. Toss everything in. You can add chicken or pork. Season with salt and pepper. I like to add a bit of sesame oil in.

      Everything in one soup. Veggie and meat.

      Will try. See as nice as theirs or nicer or not. LOL!!!

  3. Hmm, see the roasted chicken makes me crave for it, maybe after I knock off today, I go and eat…

    Bet you have really nice ones over there. This one was good, my girl enjoyed it.

  4. Bit strange to have nasi lemak as the most expensive dish isn’t it? 😀

    I guess it is because of the chicken curry added. Standard price here for the “special”, may be more at some places – regular is RM4 or RM4.50.

  5. Somehow, the quest for a lemak nasi lemak is not over LOL! I have yet to find one that passes the lemak test.

    I have found one and everyone who has gone to eat agrees with me, just that it is a roadside stall, not in a coffee shop so it is not all that comfortable.

  6. I think it is called ABC soup because you can add anything from A to Z into it. I think lah, not so sure if correct or not. Haha.

    I could not figure the name out. Maybe it is as easy to cook as ABC, that is why.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com