O Captain! My Captain…

We dropped by here…

Cafe Cafe@Swan Square

…for lunch that day because I saw on their Facebook page that they were having some salted egg promotions and I thought I could give it a try. Besides, we wanted to browse around the supermarket there as well.

Unfortunately, when I asked the girl, she knew nothing about it so I commented on their Facebook post to ask – it turned out that they did not have it…or not yet, according to them and they would be having it the coming weekend. Tsk! Tsk!

Left with no other choice, we ordered from their regular menu and as always, my girl opted for their grilled Norwegian salmon (RM38.90)…

Cafe Cafe@Swan Square grilled Norwegian salmon

…her favourite here and for sure, it would be something she could eat and enjoy, being gluten-free but I noticed that the price had increased quite a bit, from RM30.90 around this same time last year but of course, it did not matter – as long as my girl enjoyed it and besides, we do not go for it all that often, just once in a long while. As always, it was nicely done and to my girl’s liking and they certainly were very generous with the potato salad.

The mum had the grilled chicken (RM19.90)…

Cafe Cafe@Swan Square grilled chicken 1

…with two slabs of the meat…

Cafe Cafe@Swan Square grilled chicken 2

…and she could only manage one so we had to ask them to pack the other one for us to take home.

I had their beef rendang rice set before and also their masak hitam but not their Kapitan or Captain curry chicken though my missus had that once so I decided to give it (RM16.90)…

Cafe Cafe@Swan Square Kapitan chicken rice set 1

…a try, up from RM15.00 in 2013.

It was very nice and they gave two big chunks of the chicken…

Cafe Cafe@Swan Square Kapitan chicken

…one drumstick and the other, a big piece of the thigh and I would say that I enjoyed it very much, everything in that platter except those absolutely tasteless mini keropok (prawn crackers) that they seem to like to use as garnishing at some places here. I certainly would ask them to leave those out next time and maybe give me a few more slices of the freshly cut chili as on the whole, it was not spicy and the bits of chili did help give it that extra kick…

Cafe Cafe@Swan Square Kapitan chicken rice set 2

…in some small way. Perhaps I could have asked them for more from the kitchen but I did not bother.

All in all, we enjoyed the lunch and if you’re wondering why there wasn’t a single living soul in the photograph above, as always, we were there early and even so, there was a group at a table at the other side and by the time we were through, more had come in to have their lunch there.

CAFE CAFE, Swan Square formerly Giant Hypermart outlet (2.325540, 111.853538), is located on the ground floor of the mega mall located to the left of SMK Bandar Sibu along Jalan Ling Kai Cheng.