Till they came home…

I was alone when my girl and her mum went off to KL for around a week until they came home last Wednesday. It was supposed to be a noon flight scheduled to arrive at 2 something but my girl sent word that it was delayed for reasons unknown till 1.10 p.m. so I guessed it would be here by around 3.00 pm. When I got to the airport, I saw that the arrival time was 3.20 p.m. but no, it was not till around 3.30 p.m. or later that the aircraft landed. We are quite used to it actually, these flight delays. Frankly, I do think it would be a lot more appropriate for the airline people to change their tagline to: “Everyone can wait!”

By the time they got through immigration and collected their checked-in luggage, it was already past 4.00 p.m. and we did not get home till around 5. I did not cook dinner so that evening, we went out for some Chinese food – it seemed that they had not had Chinese all this time when they were in KL.

My girl wanted to come here for their special ngor hiang (RM7.80 for 6)…

A-Plus Restaurant ngor hiang

…that I heard has lokan in it and of course, I wanted that too…and also my favourite soup in town, the very clear fish maw soup (RM10.00)…

A-Plus Restaurant fish maw soup

…with everything else in it.

We decided to try this green vegetable fried with century egg (RM8.00)…

A-Plus Restaurant green veg with century egg

…and it was good – we sure would not mind ordering that again next time or perhaps we would have it cooked in one of the other two ways, ching chao (plain fried with garlic) or with hay bee (udang kering/dried prawns).

The bitter gourd omelette (RM7.00)…

A-Plus Restaurant bitter gourd omelette

…was nicer the previous time I had it here as they had lap cheong/臘腸 (Chinese sausage) in it but not this time around.

Luckily, I asked for the prices of each item that we ordered so I could mention them here and I was shocked when I was told that the bitter gourd omelette was RM11.00. I asked the mono-lingual boy why it was so expensive and he said there was lap cheong in it. “哪裡有?” (Where got?) I protested and I went on to tell him that I had that in the dish the last time and it was very much nicer. Well, the boy was very nice and apologised profusely and reduced the price by RM4.00.

Yes, we enjoyed our dinner that night and as soon as we were done, we rushed home so the ladies could do their week-old laundry before calling it a day. *Faints!!!*

A-PLUS FOOD CENTRE/RESTAURANT (2.293355, 111.823653) is located among the shops along Jalan Kampung Datu behind the block of shops (where Fair Price Supermarket is) near the traffic lights at its junction with Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg and Jalan Kampung Nyabor.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

10 thoughts on “Till they came home…”

  1. Why didn’t you tag along to KL? Was it because you needed to stay to care for your mom?

    The green vege with century eggs looks so good. I believe I would love that.

    I think it was sak chai or whatever it is called – we had it once cooked Bangladeshi style with fish:
    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2017/10/22/something-extra/

    Yes, that is why I don’t travel. I would go away for a couple of days if I must, like for weddings or funerals but I would come back quickly. Will not stay away too long.

  2. I like this type of homecooked dishes. That green veg looks like “kut chai”, very smooth (kut) & abit slimy when cooked. I love it ching chao

    Ok, will remember the name now, thanks. We enjoyed it very much.

  3. I had to Google what ngor hiang was. From what I could see it’s basically pork with spices in a tofu skin!? Does that sound about right?

    Yes, that’s what it is. I guess you can make your own vegan version like the very popular spring roll at my favourite cafe in town – they use mushroom for the filling. My girl can’t eat the skin of those anymore, not gluten free. We’ve tried using those Vietnamese rice wrappers. Perhaps one of these days, we will try with this bean curd skin.

  4. That is one cute ngoh hiang. And lokan in it. I like that too.

    Fish maw soup. My favourite since I was young. Parents always ordered that when ever we dined in Open Air Market. Fish maw soup, bittergourd with deer meat and sometimes bittergourd omelette. They did the dishes well but those were the days. Ages since I go there.

    Very different from the regular ngor hiang and very very nice!

    Very often, those places would have closed shop by now or the young ones have taken over and they’re not so nice anymore. We have some around here. Others have come out in the meantime and are much nicer.

  5. My flight was delay for 2 hours , thanks poor airport management. They should buck up!!

    If we browse through airlines all over the world, delays seem to be the order of the day. Biar lambat asal selamat, better be late than safe…or be like me, just stay home. 😀

  6. Looks like they forgot the lap cheong! I like the look of the ngor hiang – I’m more used to the long cylindrical ones.

    Yes, different from the rest, even the taste. Very nice!

  7. Those flight delays cause so much trouble if on transit.
    Alot of time wasted too 😦

    You’re telling me! I had to space my flights out so if there were any delays, I would not miss the connecting flight. Best to play safe, even if it means long waits at airports, a lot of time wasted. When we went to New Zealand, I chose to stay the night at the airport hotel and take the flight the next day. Same thing coming home.

    Not so bad for you people there, direct flights straight out of KLIA or KLIA2. For us, it is one transit after another. No choice, I guess. Just have to live with it.

  8. By asking, you paid RM4 less… yes, sometimes I also ask if the bill is not justified…

    These days, I always ask for the price of each dish/item so I can mention it in my blogpost. Will be useful for anyone who intends to drop by the same place.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com