If you could read my mind…

We had to drive all the way…

Batu 36 Sibu-Selangau Road

to my girl’s school the other day, Wednesday, to bring her back to town as she had some business to attend to over the following few days.

I decided to buy some chicken rice for her lunch so we stopped by here

Chopsticks sign

…and since we were there, we thought that we might as well have a bite to eat for brunch and we would not need to worry about lunch later.

It was a little too early for rice so we opted for something else from one of the stalls there. I had something from these Indonesian ladies before but no, I was not at all impressed. Well, they are still around after all this time and they seemed to enjoy very good business. I saw some people eating what they dished out and they all looked pretty good. That was why we decided to give them another try.

I ordered the fried kway teow with cockles (RM6.00)…

Chopsticks fried kway teow with cockles

…not remembering that I did have it that first and last time around. It sure looked nicer than before and it tasted all right too, just that the cockles were barely visible to the naked eye.

My missus asked for the mee goreng (RM5.00) but got the mee goreng seafood with kangkong (RM7.00)…

Chopsticks mee goreng seafood with kangkong

…instead. It tasted great – I could detect the prawn stock used in the cooking but unfortunately, it had way too much msg, so much so that my missus could not finish all of it.

I walked around and saw this…

Chopsticks sign at stall

…at one of the stalls. Now, that’s a word that I did not know but I could guess it would be one of those “spare parts” and I was right. I wonder what it is called in Chinese or Malay though…and my oh my! The “pork leg vinegar with rice” sure is pricey here, RM11.00, mind you! I just had that not too long ago for around RM7-8.00.

My girl was delighted that I got her the chicken rice, drumstick, with siew yoke (roast pork) added (RM6.00)…

Chopsticks chicken drumstick rice with siew yoke

…with specific instructions not to pour any sauces or whatever all over it. She told me that she was thinking of asking me to buy that or the curry beef with rice from here that she liked a lot too and as a matter of fact, I was contemplating on getting her that as well and since she did say the other day that she was cutting down on spicy stuff, in the end, I decided against it. Gee!!! It does look like I could read her mind, eh?

I also bought two packets of the chicken drumstick rice plus one stewed egg (RM5.50)…

Chopsticks chicken drumstick rice with stewed egg

…for her colleagues, the two sharing the same unit with my girl at the teachers’ quarters in her school.

We made our way back after she had had her lunch and got into town some one and half to two hours later and I stopped by here as we did drop by not too long ago and we wanted the sotong kangkong (RM9.50 now, up by 50 sen)…

Sibu Thomson Corner sotong kangkong

…but it was not available. I knew my girl would like that and true enough, she was! See! I told you I could read her mind like the back of my hand.

I had the ngor mee th’ng or bubur buang panas in Malay (RM3.30)…

Sibu Thomson Corner ngor mee th'ng

…that I recently saw somebody having and I made up my mind there and then that I would want to give it a try at the earliest opportunity I would get. Yes, it was good, just like the one we used to enjoy during my teenage days but they demolished all the stalls in the area to build the Sibu Central Market and I don’t know if the guy is still around doing this same busines anymore or not.

My girl had the ang tao peng (iced red bean), RM3.50 and the mum had the cendol without the red beans (RM3.50). For reasons unknown, eating red beans or the paste (or tau sar) would send her head spinning.

After that brief pit-stop, we went on our way home.

CHOPSTICKS CHICKEN & RICE (2.312434, 111.845917) is located in the Delta Mall, Jalan Pedada area of shops, facing the church along Lorong Taman Seduan 8, off Jalan Gambir and SIBU THOMSON CORNER (2.296517, 111.840710) is located at Pusat Tanahwang, right across the road from Sacred Heart Secondary School, Oya Road.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

11 thoughts on “If you could read my mind…”

  1. That’s father’s instinct. Sotong kangkong & Ngor mee th’ng has always been my favourite. Great to have this refreshing & quenching ngor mee th’ng especially hot days like this.

    I guess parent and child must be close to have that. Met an ex-student yesterday – eldest is in his final year in Swinburne. At least, he knew that. Then he said the second one is in Form 5 and I asked him what school and he could not answer. Gosh!!!

    Pretty cool here these days, getting quite a bit of rain.

  2. “Mesentery” – it’s a new word for me. I wouldn’t think I’ve ever had that before.

    I went and googled and I could not make out the description nor the diagrams. I wonder if it’s pig’s stomach – perhaps someone who can read Chinese can enlighten us.

  3. Mesentery! Wow never heard that used in a dish. Makes it really interesting but unappetizing

    Indeed. Only word I know that sounds like it is dysentery. Eyewwww!!!!

  4. 豬肚 means pig stomach. I looked up the word mesentery. Mesentery refers to the tissues that connects various organs to the abdominal wall. Mesentery is not stomach so I wonder who decides to go and use the word mesentery. Just write stomach will do and easier for customers to understand.

    Exactly!!! I also went and googled and got so utterly confused. 😦 Stomach would do fine, dunno how or from where they got the word.

  5. Mesentery, a new word to me too,
    猪肚 I know….

    I guessed as much as it was the only spare part not in the list.

  6. Your fried kuey teow looks more satisfying than the one I had for dinner tonight! Mine was double your price and had several prawns in it, but no cockles! Boo hoo :S

    I bet you went to those classy expensive cafes, one of those places to see and to be seen and not necessarily to enjoy the food. My Penang friends always told me – the dirtier the place, the lousier it is, the nicer the food.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

